Rant: About How My Favourite Superhero Was Put In The Corner

Ok so this is the second post in a row where it isn’t about books. But I guess you could say it technically KIND OF is because it started off as a comic book.

I am a massive X-Men fan. I grew up watching the cartoon and that was how my love started. My favourite character is Rogue. Like, she is pretty much freaking amazing!!! If you have only watched the X-Men movies though, you would not know this. So, for those of you who aren’t aware, here is just how awesome Rogue is.

Image result for rogue

Marvel’s description:

Rogue is a mutant who formerly possessed the ability to absorb the memories, abilities, personality, and outward physical characteristics of other beings through skin-to-skin contact. Such transfers lasted for 60 times longer than the contact time, with less with extended contact resulting in the possibility of permanent absorption.

Soooo, pretty much she is one of the most USEFUL characters there are. Along with her powers, she is sassy and pretty much kicks ass. And also on a side note, her relationship with Gambit **swoons**.

Image result for rogue and gambit

Which then brings me to the X-Men trilogy (X-Men, X2 and X-Men: The Last Stand).

I remember when I first heard about the movies and I was so ridiculously excited about seeing my favourite character coming to life. It started off promising, but Rogue’s character became shittier and shittier, until The Last Stand where she is hardly in it and when she is it isn’t even worth it.

WHAT THE HELL 20TH CENTURY FOX?!?! I have been so annoyed about this whole situation ever since I saw the first movie back in 2000. Rogue was utterly RIPPED OFF. Like, yes Anna Paquin was following orders but there was NO pizzazz. Apart from her skills being used in the first movie by Magneto, no-one really gets to see the full extent of what she can actually do.

Image result for rogue anna paquin

Rogue can take one’s powers AND USE THEM HERSELF. Did I see this in the movies? Umm, like, once or twice…other than that, no!! We see her whine and cry about it a lot, and use Logan’s healing powers, but other than that she turns out to be one of the most annoying characters. By the last movie in the trilogy you can tell that the writers and producers had absolutely no idea on what to do with her character, so she got hardly any screen time. Even in the newer movies (Apocalypse), her character was cut from a lot of the scenes and she once again plays a minor character.

Yes, I may be biased because like I said Rogue is my favourite super hero of all time. But come on!! This awesome, vivacious character was turned into an absolute bore and I DEMAND JUSTICE!!!! Rogue was really put in the corner while other characters were allowed to shine. (By the way, I am happy with the amount of screen time Logan got because, well, he is also freaking awesome).

Image result for wolverine hugh jackman

Anyway, this has been a bit of a rant so I’m sorry about that. Even if no-one reads this, I feel this has been a little bit ofΒ healing for me. I am obviously still quite upset, after all of these years, that my lovely Rogue was not given justice. Here is hoping that maybe future X-Men films will be better for her…and they include Gambit!!!!

Image result for gambit

Steff xx

15 comments

  1. RamblingLisa · 28 Days Ago

    I love Rogue! I always wanted to be her!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Adoptabookaus · 28 Days Ago

    I love Rouge! I wish she was more of a star in the movies too, even the small snapshot had me so interested in her character and being able to not only kill by touch but steal powers is one of my fave super hero powers, she could have been epic </3 Great rant I completely agree that Rouge needed more love in the films.

    Liked by 1 person

    • littlebookynook · 24 Days Ago

      She really could have been epic hey, I hope one day we’ll see her portrayed more accurately πŸ˜•

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Sophie @ Blame Chocolate · 26 Days Ago

    While I do love Anna Paquin, she didn’t do Rogue any justice in the movies. But, like you said, it’s not her fault, it’s the writers’ and director’s fault.
    I wish they’d make spin-offs of all the major X-Men characters. I’d be awesome! I know they’re planning one for Gambit with Channing Tatum and I don’t really know what to think about it… I hope they have the decency to include Rogue in it, though! And that she’s way more faithful to the comics than Anna Paquin’s version was.

    Liked by 1 person

    • littlebookynook · 24 Days Ago

      Yeah I don’t know how I feel about Channing Tatum as Gambit either. If it is done like Logan or Deadpool it’d probably be awesome, just depends if they want to go serious or funny. If they put Rogue in it….it would make me sooooo happy 😍😍😍

      Liked by 1 person

      • Sophie @ Blame Chocolate · 24 Days Ago

        I agree! Deadpool and Logan are two of my favorite superhero movies of all time. They’re extremely different, despite been both quite dark, so I wouldn’t mind if someone from their team took over the Gambit project. I just KNOW it’d be good!
        Yeeess, Rogue and Gambit would be swoonfest ❀ ❀ ❀

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Evelina @ AvalinahsBooks · 24 Days Ago

    PREACH, SISTER, PREACH!!! God those words are clearly from a godly source of wisdom. I love Rogue too! I don’t watch Hollywood much, but you are absolutely right – in the movies, Rogue is… nothing. She’s not really there. She was so sassy in the cartoons! She was dramatic, cool, flirty, even silly – she was everything. And she was such an underdog. I don’t remember her displaying her abilities much in the 80’s cartoon (that’s the only one I was exposed to, being from Lithuania), but I remember loving her colorful personality, her emotiveness, her ordeal, her pain. And the ship! The ship is amazing too!
    Spoken like true words of wisdom. Love this post. Hell, I’m noting it down to share in next week’s wrap-up.

    Liked by 1 person

    • littlebookynook · 23 Days Ago

      You know what, I am so glad I am not the only one who feels the same way about how Rogue was portrayed. She was the best character in the cartoons hey, I fell in love with her from the moment I saw her. I hope that maybe in the future they do something worthwhile with Rogue, however based on her character in the movies she is one of the least popular characters. I had to order a figurine of her and wait for months because a lot of pop-culture stores don’t even stock her…it’s just horrible!!!! Thank you so much, I’m glad you loved this post!!!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Evelina @ AvalinahsBooks · 22 Days Ago

        Perhaps we love Rogue so much BECAUSE she is such an underdog? XD I mean. I have also always seen myself as an underdog. And she’s got just as much drama as I do xD her unpopularity would also explain my unpopularity with people LOLOLOL πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

        Liked by 1 person

      • littlebookynook · 22 Days Ago

        Haha yes!! I am an underdog too, so I completely agree with what you are saying!! Yeah I wouldn’t call myself popular either, I have never followed the status quo…which also explains me loving Rogue haha!! And yes, I agree with the drama too…that is my life in a nutshell hahaha!!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Evelina @ AvalinahsBooks · 21 Days Ago

        We cracked it πŸ˜ƒπŸ˜ƒπŸ˜ƒ

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: Sunday post #18 - AvalinahsBooks
  6. Greg Hill · 17 Days Ago

    Rogue is awesome and it’s outrageous how they screwed her character up in the movies! I thought Anna Paquin was okay, mainly becasue she seemed to mesh well with Logan, and their relationship was always so important, but they squandered it. I mean she’s not who I would have cast, but they could have given her SOMETHING to do.
    One of my favorite stories was when the X-Men went to Japan and they all got poisoned, Logan’s healing factor helped him and I don’t remember why Rogue was okay, but they fought Viper and Rogue saved Wolvie and Mariko by taking a shot meant for them. Wolvie then turned around and kissed her, so she would absorb his healing factor and live. SO cool! So when they did the Japan story in the Wolverine movie I thought it would be so cool to have Rogue in it and recreate that scene, but they didn’t. SUCH a missed opportunity!
    Here are links to the scene (complete with old school art lol)
    https://www.pinterest.com/pin/376895062549885969/
    https://it.pinterest.com/pin/119345458846695129/
    https://gregsbookhaven.blogspot.com/

    Liked by 1 person

    • littlebookynook · 9 Days Ago

      I really loved the relationship between Rogue and Logan in the movies, I feel it’s one of the few things they got right with Rogue.

      Thank you so much for the links!!! I love anything with Rogue, and I love the old school art 😊😊😊 Thank you for reading and commenting, sorry it’s taken me a bit to reply!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

