Why I Loved The Vagrant Series

I recently read The Vagrant series by Peter Newman, and I have to say, I ABSOLUTELY LOVED IT! While the first book took me a little bit to get my head around who the bad guy was and the world in general, I found it to be a fantastic and completely different read.

the vagrant.png

Synopsis

The Vagrant is his name. He has no other. Friendless and alone he walks across a desolate, war-torn landscape, carrying nothing but a kit-bag, a legendary sword and a baby. His purpose is to reach the Shining City, last bastion of the human race, and deliver the sword, the only weapon that may make a difference in the ongoing war. But the Shining City is far away and the world is a very dangerous place.  

Because I loved this series so much, I have made a little list of some of the things I loved about this series.

1. Goats

Yes. Goats!!! The first book has a cranky old goat that is travelling with the vagrant, and she does not give two shits about anything. When the world is falling to pieces, the goat stands there eating and scowling. The second and third book have one of cranky goats children, just referred to as “the kid”. The kid is hilarious, running and fainting and adding a bit of chaos. This is the first book series I have ever read where there is a goat as a sidekick and it is awesome.

2. Vesper

We see the young girl Vesper grow into a woman over the 3 books….literally. In the first book she is a baby and pretty much just a prop. But she turns into a pretty kickass chick, so much so that I named my Diablo character after her. And yes, my Diablo character is pretty dope.

the malice.png

3. The Vagrant

Also a first for me is a book where the main character is mute. Despite not uttering a single word, it is awesome to still see how he communicates. It takes a bit to learn about him but you get to see flashbacks throughout the first book which sheds light on who he is and why he is doing what he is doing. I also found he could be funny at times, without even really meaning to be.

4. Side-kicks

Throughout the series you meet a few sidekicks that kind of just come up out of the blue, which I love. The main characters always end up with a  bit of a rag-tag group on their quest and it makes for some interesting moments. My favourite would have had to have been Samael…I can’t really explain him but I don’t want to give anything away. And while he is another character that didn’t have a lot of dialogue, I just really liked him.

5. The writing

Peter Newman is a great story-teller, and like the rest of the book, I found his writing to be completely different to anything I have ever read. I found his writing to be quite poetic and the world-building was awesome. There were a lot of characters to juggle in this series and I found he did it quite well.

6. Dystopian

I was a bit exhausted by the dystopian genre for a while, but now I love it again. The Vagrant is set in a post-apocalyptic world, overtaken by demons. Humans are all pretty horrible to each other so even though there is a bad guy, there isn’t really anyone you can trust anyway.

The Seven.png

7. The Seven

I feel weird putting this one down because I thought the seven weren’t very nice, however I loved the story behind them and how flawed they were even though they were supposed to be perfect. I found their story quite compelling and it was interesting to see what happened with them over the series.

I have read mixed reviews on this series, however I personally loved it. It was very different which I found really refreshing, and if you aren’t one who likes romance in your sci-fi/fantasy then this should be up your alley. Overall I thoroughly enjoyed this series and highly recommend it!!!

Steff xx

 

 

6 comments

  1. Wow this sounds so cool and I’ve never read a book with a goat as a sidekick before!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh, you’ve convinced me with this post! I will definitely be adding Vagrant to my TBR now 😀 I mean, epic no-fucks-given goats? A kickass heroine? Post-apocalyptic world and demons? YES!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. jeanjeanjeannie · July 18

    Added to my TBR! Never heard of this series until now and it sounds right up my alley! Also loooove those covers. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

