Poem

I get really nervous sharing my poems because a lot of them are usually written when I am in a pretty dark place. As self-conscious as it makes me, I also think that maybe my poems might help someone else out there who may be trying to put their anxiety and depression into words. I’m going through a bit of a bad spot at the moment, and for anyone else who experiences the same thing, you will understand how absolutely exhausting it is. It can also feel like there is no return from how you are feeling.

Anyway, here is todays poem…

I’m walking a line

Between life and death

Head is a mess

Stomach is nauseous

Nothing is wrong

But everything is wrong

Every day is new

But I’m still the same

I’m trying to find a lifeline

But I keep coming up short

I want to curl into a ball

I want to sink into the ground

How do I keep smiling?

How do I keep living?

Sometimes I want to be selfish

I want to feel peace

What do I do?

Where do I go?

When will it end?

Will it ever end?

I’ll toss and turn tonight

But I’ll be smiling tomorrow

My demons will keep me company

But I will be utterly alone.

Steff xx

11 comments

  1. Hannah · 19 Days Ago

    It’s so brave of you to share this piece of yourself. Thank you so much for doing it!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. namitha · 19 Days Ago

    Wow… i loved your poem… could totally relate…I too write poems when I’m usually in a dark place… just recently I posted a sort of dark poem too with the same intent

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Vicki · 19 Days Ago

    Beautiful & I understand 100%. Love upi

    Like

  4. RamblingLisa · 19 Days Ago

    I really feel what you wrote. The poetry I write usually happens when I’m in a dark place also. It makes me feel very vulnerable when it comes to sharing that type of writing but, like you said, sharing might help someone.

    Liked by 1 person

    • littlebookynook · 17 Days Ago

      Thank you so much! I find it therapeutic writing when I’m depressed/anxious, it helps putting it down and sorting out my feelings. Thank you so much for reading it 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Sophie @ Blame Chocolate · 19 Days Ago

    I’m not a poetry fan but I actually enjoyed your poem! It’s simple but powerful ☺️

    Liked by 1 person

  6. jasonbarry12 · 16 Days Ago

    I just want to hug you!! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

