Books I haven’t read yet because #intimidated

Hello everyone, I hope you are all having a wonderful start to the week!! I’m not going to lie, I haven’t been terribly motivated with my blog lately. I’ve had a lot going on IRL so my inspiration for writing and thinking up blogs has been very low. So I apologise for my lack of presence both on my blog and commenting on your blogs. I promise I will try and get back into it over the coming weeks as things ease up a bit.

Anyhoo, today I was thinking about books that I haven’t read or finished because they are just waaaay too intimidating. I am gunna jump into it straight away so I don’t keep rambling.

Lord of the Rings – J.R.R Tolkien

I have tried reading the first book soooooo many times, but I always stop reading when they get to the cabbage patch. I think that is like, the first 100 pages. For one, I find Tolkien’s writing to difficult to follow but also, his stories are EPIC. Maybe I am just not ready for the epicness yet? I will keep trying and maybe one day I will get further than the cabbage patch…

Image result for lord of the rings series

War and Peace – Leo Tolstoy

I don’t think I’m the only person who is intimidated by this book. Have you seen how freakin HUGE it is? How can anyone write a book so big? It is my plan to one day start on this mammoth of a book, even if it takes me 20 years to finish.

Image result for war and peace book cover

Anna Karenina – Leo Tolstoy

Another MASSIVE book. Like War and Peace, I really hope to start reading this book one day…maybe in 20 years when I have finished W & P…

Image result for anna karenina book cover

The Passage – Justin Cronin

I have this book sitting on my shelf and I feel really bad for not reading it yet because I have heard good things. But it’s big and then the other 2 books are big too. And then I heard there are vampires or something in it and to be honest I’m not really into vampires at the moment because of over-exposure after Twilight.

Image result for the passage justin cronin

A Song of Ice and Fire series – George R.R. Martin

I’m sorry But I feel like I am actually the only person in the world who hasn’t been into either the books or the television series. I have a real issue with really popular things becoming too popular and then not being able to go on the internet because of spoilers. I also have heard there is ALOT of sexual assault in these books which doesn’t really make feel inclined to read. If someone can tell me that these will be the best things I ever read then I may change my mind, until then…hmmmm not so much.

Image result for a song of ice and fire

We need to talk about Kevin – Lionel Shriver

I started reading this book but then got a little scared off it because it seems rather dark. I therefore put the book back on the shelf but I keep looking at it because I feel like I should read it.

Image result for we need to talk about kevin

An Echo in the Bone – Outlander book 7 – Diana Gabaldon

I started this book and was loving it (as I have loved all of the books so far) however I spoilt the next book (Written in my own hearts blood) by reading Wikipedia. I now kind of know what is going to happen and I don’t want to deal with the stress. I know, I know, I shouldn’t have read ahead but it’s a really bad habit to get out of. So now I am too scared to continue because of feelings.

Image result for an echo in the bone

The next 7 Wheel of Time books

*Sigh*….this series is turning out to be my Mt Everest. I started reading the series last year and was doing really well. I got through the first 7 without reading any other book in between. But then I hit a slump with this series and have realised I have SEVEN BOOKS to go before I get to the end. And for anyone who has read these books…they can be a bit tedious at times because of Jordan’s over-describing of pretty much EVERYTHING. Anyway, the plan is to keep trying…there’s just so many 😦

Image result for the wheel of time series

Manga

I have always, always wanted to give Manga a go but have always been super intimidated by the lay-out. This sounds super weird but I have never been very good at reading comics so therefore never gave Manga a go. If anyone knows of some good Manga to start with let me know!!

Image result for the ghost in the shell manga

******************************************

That’s all for today my friends. Do any of the above books intimidate you too much to read? Are there any books that intimidate you that aren’t on my list? Let me know in the comments section below!!

Steff xx

16 thoughts on “Books I haven’t read yet because #intimidated

  1. Can I just join in with you for 3/4 of this list! GoT, LoR, Tolstoy seriously there all one day books for me but I just can’t bring myself to start them.
    I read we need to talk about Kevin when I was in high school so can’t really remember anything but the main parts but it sucks you spoilt yourself :(!

    PS – Game of thrones TV series is so good and I will always try to convince people to start it. I agree though there are lots of death and rape, it definitely has it’s problematic aspects but the storyline and characters just suck you in.
    Great post! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think I will have to try and watch GoT show one day…I should have started watching it back from season 1 because now I have got soooo much to get through. On the other hand, I will get to binge watch it which I love doing!!

      I’m so glad I’m not the only one who hasn’t been able to read those books yet. Maybe I will wait to read Anna Karenina and War and Peace when I am retired in 100 years, because I will have a lot of time to read them haha. Thanks lovely xx

      Liked by 1 person

  2. So with you on A Game of Thrones!! I have the first book, but I don’t know if I’ll ever read it 😂 it’s just so big and I’m not really that keen on high fantasy? Like YA high fantasy confuses me enough so I don’t want to think about Adult high fantasy 😂 The Passage is on my TBR but it’s not a high priority. I don’t have plans to read Outlander or Tolstoy but just thinking about those books scare me.

    Also with Manga I think Death Note is a good place to start!! I am pretty comfortable with comics, but that’s the first manga I read and it definitely made me want to read more. The right-left reading style takes a little bit to get used to it, but it’s surprisingly easy to get familiar with!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know what you mean about high fantasy, I think that’s maybe why I have struggled with the Wheel of Time series. Ooooh I will look at Death Note!! I started watching the show a while back but I would love to look at the books. I guess it’s just a matter of getting familiar with the style. Thanks so much for the suggestion!!

      Like

  3. Tolkien is EPIC – absolutely, and that’s not everyone’s cup of tea for sure. But I think maybe it’s the style of writing itself, rather than the story. I mean the story has all the ingredients – ingredients that are not exclusive to the epic genre. I say this because you are not the first person to tell me they didn’t like Lord of the Rings and I always get the same impression. It’s old style epic fantasy which I happen to love.
    Now, if you have already tried on more than one occasion and the cabbage patch always comes back to haunt you – it’s probably never gonna happen 😦

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh yeah I think it is definitely the writing style that gets me, because I love the story itself. And the weird thing is that I actually loved The Hobbit, so I don’t know if his writing style is a little bit different than in LoTR? Thanks so much for reading 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Only read Lord of the Rings in your list – loved it. Tried War and Peace but got bored with all the battles and Russian names imposdible to remember.
    Shantaram is on the shelf nut sooooo big it’s intimidating!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Fantastic list! I, too, am intimidated by these. I mean, who wouldn’t?! They’re all so freaking long, especially LOTR trilogy and Game of Thrones D: I want to read them, but damn LOL. I’d love to read Anna Karenina, too, mostly because i feel I need to read more classics and I haven’t read a thing by Tolstoy yet. But…it’s just so huge…SCARY. Hope you manage to get to all these one day! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yep, they are all long and the wording can be quite difficult to follow (for me anyway haha). I was thinking of maybe just watching the Anna Karenina movie…I know film adaptions aren’t always as great as the book but sometimes it is just soooo much easier!! Thank you, I hope I get through it one day too 🙂 Thanks so much for reading 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I was thinking of just watching Anna Karenina, too! It’s a beautiful looking movie! And I agree, movies can sometimes be a more entertaining/easier way to go. And of course! 😀

        Like

  6. Some of these are on my “intimidated list” as well. Leo Tolstoy… everytime I see one of his novels in a store I am like, “OH A CLASSIC I SHOULD READ THIS” and then I pick it up, feels its weight, and immediately put it back… haha

    I also have not finished the Outlander or Wheel of Time series… ugh 😦

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hahaha yep I have done the same thing with the Tolstoy books!! Outlander and Wheel of Time, ahhh…yes I will get through them one day. I am actually planning on reading the 8th WoT book very soon even though I heard it’s not great. I just want to finish it now to say I finished haha. Thanks for reading!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

