Unpopular Opinion: Why I don’t like Frozen

Last night I watched Moana for the first time and I have to say, it is now up there with my other favourite Disney movies – Tangled, Beauty and the Beast and Brave. I think it is such a wonderful, inspiring movie and I think there would be so many little girls around the world who will look up to Moana.

Which then brings me to Frozen.

Sometimes I feel like I am the only person in the world who really does NOT love this movie…and this is coming from a Disney freak!! Believe me when I say this isn’t one of those “Ohhh it’s too popular so I can’t like it wah, wah, wah”. No, I dislike this movie on many levels. Today, I will explain why.

Elsa

In the Disney world, there are some pretty crappy characters that do pretty crappy things. But to me, Elsa absolutely takes the cake. She pushes her sister away, leaving her all alone in the world; she runs away from the only person in the world who stands by her and loves her…her sister; she pretty much leaves everyone to FREEZE TO DEATH. And when she finds out that last little piece of information SHE DOESN’T EVEN CARE. Elsa is not empowering or inspiring. To me she is a Disney villain. She is the bad guy in this movie and I absolutely CANNOT STAND HER.

Image result for channing tatum let it go gif

The whole “this is so feminist” product promoting

What makes this movie feminist? The main characters are female – ok sure that’s a start. But to me that’s pretty much where is stops. To me feminism is females and males being equal and I honestly did not see this in this movie. Sure the whole “true loves kiss” was turned on it’s head a bit but I still don’t buy it. I feel like “feminism” is seen by some people as a trend and therefore like to just throw it out there because people will buy it. For one, how about not needing to mention feminism at all. Why should it be mentioned, as if it is like a treat….when it should be something that occurs naturally anyway? Every single movie and book should be empowering to women and men alike. I hate that it has become something that is treated as though “if you don’t behave, you won’t get equality”. EVERYTHING should be feminist…equalist…whatever the hell you want to call it.

If you are wanting to watch a movie with more feminist qualities, you would be better off watching Moana or Brave.

Image result for feminism gif

Sisterly…love?

This story was about sisterly love apparently. Or that was how it was marketed. Once again right at the end, you see “true loves kiss”…which would have been super sweet if you thought Elsa loved or respected Anna. But we didn’t see any of this throughout the whole freakin movie. Sure, Elsa was scared of hurting Anna again, however she still manages to do by not going anywhere near her. Elsa pushes Anna away at every single turn and sends an ICE DEMON after her…which could have KILLED her. HOW IS THIS SISTERLY LOVE???? Based on the supposed sisterly love in this movie, the Thor franchise could totally promote their movies as a story about “the brotherly love between Loki and Thor”.

Image result for thor and loki gif

The parents are absolutely awful

Award for the crappiest Disney parents go to these two. They encourage Elsa to not use her powers and to pretty much become a recluse. They don’t find anyone to help her, they just lock her in her room and tell her to keep it hidden. They pretty much set her on the path of being a crappy sister and Queen…GREAT WORK GUYS!!! 

Image result for parents gif

Hans

So, in an effort to not have Elsa being seen as “the villain”, let’s throw in a guy who wants to take over the kingdom in a very half-hearted sense. The funny thing is, he actually did nicer things for the people than what Elsa or Anna ever did. Like when everyone is dying from the cold and he makes sure everyone has blankets etc. I feel like the movie was half made and the writers were like “eeek Elsa looks like a bit of a bitch…hmm let’s see…Oh I know! Let’s just make it seem like Hans was evil the whole time”. Puh-lease!!

Image result for villain gif

Those troll things

Like minions, I do not care for them. At all.

Image result for not cute gif

“Love”

Anna falls in love with Hans in like, 2 seconds, then proceeds to fall in love with Kristoff just as quickly. In a movie that is marketed to be about women empowerment and sisterly love, why not just leave out the romance side of it when the end result of the “romance” was quite weak anyway? Not every story has to centre around falling in love and there are more ways of finding yourself than finding “the one”. Don’t get me wrong, I am an absolute sucker for romance, however in this movie it felt like both Hans and Kristoff are there for the sake of it and I don’t dig it.

Image result for not into it gif

I genuinely just love every other Disney movie more

I don’t HATE Frozen, but I am very, very, very far off from loving it. Frozen ended up feeling like something you had to like because everyone else did…Like Game of Thrones or the Walking Dead. And I really, really dislike being told what I should and shouldn’t like. If you pitted Frozen against any other Disney movie I would also choose the latter, because to me they felt more genuine, more inspiring and had more lessons to teach than Frozen.

I will always love characters like Belle, Rapunzel, Merida, Moana, Simba and Aladdin who sought adventure and a way to become a better version of themselves, who made sacrifices for the ones they loved and inspired others to do the same. Frozen was sold to consumers along the same lines, however to me, it did not deliver.

Steff xx

 

 

 

18 thoughts on “Unpopular Opinion: Why I don’t like Frozen

  1. Brilliant Steff! Frozen’s original plot was changed I believe and the result is pretty wishy washy. I must admit I like a couple of the (very catchy) songs and that’s where Disney has excelled and helped make it big. I haven’t seen Moana yet or Brave (I’ve read the picture book lol) so must do soon! Keep up the great bloggin’ 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I totally agree with you! I think frozen is way too hyped only because of the song… I personally feel tangled, b&b and brave are so much more better… tangled is my fav Disney movie of all time ❤️❤️❤️

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Tangled is my favourite Disney movie of all time as well!! I have seen it a gazillion times, yet I cry at the end every single time lol. And the lanterns…my eyes water ALOT in that scene!! Thank you for reading, I’m glad I’m not the only one who finds Frozen to be overhyped!!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Omg yes! I get goosebumps during the lantern scene! Even just thinking about it! Tangled is also my fav Disney movie of all time!! 😊😊❤️ I’ve watched it so many times that I kind of know the dialogues! Tangled is just so so beautiful 😍 I want to watch it again now hehe

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Jambareeqi was so right in his review of Frozen. The characters are ridiculous, the story is heavily disappointing, the animation is slightly complex and the songs are flat. I don’t care if Jambareeqi got hate for putting down Hotel Transylvania in favour of Big Hero 6. He had to.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I haven’t seen Hotel Transylvania as yet, I think I will have to. I don’t like when people get hate for not loving something popular. At least you know they don’t just like something because everyone else does!

      Like

Leave a Reply

