Books I recently bid adieu to

Recently I did a clean out of my bookshelf because at the moment I only have one, so space is very precious. I therefore gave away books that I didn’t love or didn’t think I would read again. All of the books I have kept are ones that I love dearly and unfortunately the following books just didn’t make the cut.

Image result for adieu gif

Red Queen – Victoria Aveyard

red-queen

Underwhelming and a bit too much like other YA novels for my liking. I tried really hard to like it but I ended up DNF’ing it at about the 120 mark. It has been passed onto a good home however so I hope the next person who reads it likes it more than me.

The Jewel – Amy Ewing

the-jewel

The instalove was my biggest bugaboo with this book. I really just wasn’t a fan of it and didn’t want to continue with the series.

Age of the Five series – Trudi Canavan

Image result for age of the five

This series was ok, but for me it wasn’t a stand out and definitely not a series I would read again. I found the main character to be a bit of a special snowflake and the stories itself dragged on for a bit. My favourite part was Mischief, Auraya’s pet Veez. He was so ridiculously cute and reminded me of my cat.

Beautiful Creatures series – Kami Garcia & Margaret Stohl

Image result for beautiful creatures series

I think I gave this series away out of bitterness, because I had been so excited to read these books. Unfortunately they turned out to be very underwhelming and a bit wishy washy to me. I didn’t like Lena, the love interest, and I didn’t think she was worth Ethan pursuing. This series was just a whole lot of meh, which was quite disappointing.

My Sister Rosa – Justine Larbalestier

Image result for my sister rosa

This book probably could have been really good however I gave up on reading it for a rather petty reason….the main character kept referring to his parents as “the parentals”. You have no idea how much this bugged me, it was like a plate smashing every time I read it – which was every single page. I have read good reviews for this book and like I said I have no doubt it was, I just couldn’t get over my petty grievance.

The Left Hand of God series – Paul Hoffman

Image result for the left hand of god series

I really loved the way the Author narrated these books, it was quite humerous at times and witty. However this was another series that ended up being kind of all over the place. It almost felt as if the Author didn’t really have an outline of what was going to happen over the 3 books – especially when you get to the last book and it is written in a different format. It totally threw me off and I just couldn’t get into it, so this series unfortunately ended up being a DNF.

Twilight series – Stephanie Meyer

Image result for twilight series books

I felt it was finally time for me to let go of these books. I will never ever read them again because they are terribly written, and the nostalgia alone just wasn’t enough for me to keep them taking up room. At least now that they have been passed on to someone else they hopefully won’t just sit there gathering dust. Fare thee well, Twilight.

**************************************************************************************

So because I gave away 18 books, I can now go and buy 50 more…that’s the way it works right? Oh and it’s now June!! I hope you all have a wonderful month!!

Steff xx

 

10 comments

  1. K. A. Botello · June 1

    Thank you for using the world “bugaboo ” in this post. What a great word. I appreciate this post because it encourages me to do a good job while I am editing so someone may one to read this manuscript more than once. I couldn’t get into the Beautiful Creatures Series either. I enjoyed the movie, but only because it was less of a time commitment.

    Liked by 1 person

    • littlebookynook · June 6

      Yeah Beautiful Creatures was so disappointing. I didn’t mind the movie, I thought it was actually better than the book (probably because of the time commitment thing). Thank you so much for reading, I’m glad you liked it 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Very fantastic and well written post.Its extremely good and very helpful for me.You did a great job.
    John Pellow Brisbane

    Like

  3. Literary Weaponry · June 1

    Nice purge! Every time I move I end up going through my books and donating a bunch to the library. It’s cathartic. Also, the repeated use of “the parentals” would have driven me up the wall, too.

    Liked by 1 person

    • littlebookynook · June 6

      Haha yeah I just couldn’t get past it!! Someone asked me why I didn’t just sell the books, but I just think that if I am giving books away it is encouraging people to read…and I want more people to read!! I never thought of donating to a library though, I will keep that in mind next time. Thanks for reading 🙂

      Like

  4. Azia · June 2

    It’s really hard to give away your books but sometimes it just has to be done. I think you made some great decisions! While I really liked Red Queen (at first) I don’t think I’d ever read it again. But I’m a sucker for cool covers so I might keep it around awhile to brighten up my shelves LOL. And I’m still debating on letting my Twilight series go. Probably won’t be reading them again anytime soon, but the nostalgia’s still got its hooks in me haha. Hopefully one day I’ll work up the nerve to get rid of them. Congrats on cleaning up your shelves. Hope you find some wonderful books to replace them!

    Liked by 1 person

    • littlebookynook · June 6

      Hahaha yeah it took me a while to give up Twilight, so I can fully understand why you want to hold onto them. I think a lot of people will go through the same thing with that series hehe. I’m a sucker for cool covers too hey, that’s why I’m keeping Caraval…for now lol. Thanks so much for reading!!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Azia · June 8

        It’s a series that’s kind of hard to get rid of. I feel like it initiated the Golden Renaissance of YA lol. But make no mistake, I WILL be getting rid of it. One day…And Caraval’s cover is gorgeous. You weren’t much a fan of the story, though? It reminded me of The Night Circus, although not as well executed. And of course! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      • littlebookynook · June 12

        I really couldn’t get into Caraval which was such a shame. I think it was because I expected it to be like the Night Circus and to me it fell short :-/ I know what you mean about Twilight though, as much as it has it’s issues, it got people into reading or a new genre – which I will always be thankful for 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Azia · June 13

        Oh no 😦 But I completely understand. Caraval is no The Night Circus, that’s for sure haha 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

