A Review: Lord of Shadows by Cassandra Clare

Last night I finished Lord of Shadows. It was an absolutely wonderful book, so I have tried to give it as much justice in my review as possible.

Lord of Shadows by Cassandra Clare

Image result for lord of shadows

 

Emma Carstairs has finally avenged her parents. She thought she’d be at peace. But she is anything but calm. Torn between her desire for her parabatai Julian and her desire to protect him from the brutal consequences of parabatai relationships, she has begun dating his brother, Mark. But Mark has spent the past five years trapped in Faerie; can he ever truly be a Shadowhunter again? And the faerie courts are not silent. The Unseelie King is tired of the Cold Peace, and will no longer concede to the Shadowhunters’ demands. Caught between the demands of faerie and the laws of the Clave, Emma, Julian, and Mark must find a way to come together to defend everything they hold dear-before it’s too late.

Where do I even begin?

I have been a massive fan of Cassandra Clare’s work ever since I picked up City of Bones. I absolutely fell in love with the world she had created and such wonderful intriguing characters (umm Magnus Bane anyone??). So I was quite excited for Lord of Shadows, the 2nd book in The Dark Artifices trilogy.

Once again, Clare has created characters that are completely diverse, which I absolutely love. We have characters from all around the world, we have LGBTQIA+ characters, and we have a character with autism which I think is absolutely wonderful. Regardless of your feelings for Clare’s work, I don’t think you could ever fault her when it comes to diversity.

I loved how this story doesn’t just center on one or two people. The Blackthorn family is quite big, and you would think things would get messy with so many people. However I found that the characters are interwoven perfectly, allowing you to see an eagle eye view of the whole situation.ย I also LOVED how we became re-acquainted with characters from The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices. I was so, so excited to see them again, it was like catching up with old friends!!

Following the lines of her other books, we are never short of angst. SOOO MUCH ANGST!! But you know what? I love it, I always have! I will be very interested to see where certain characters head with their relationships (and I’m not just talking about Julian and Emma).

There were some beautiful quotes in this book. This one however, was my favourite:

“We fear things because we value them. We fear losing people because we love them. We fear dying because we value being alive. Don’t wish you didn’t fear anything. All that would mean is that you didn’t feel anything”.

There were characters in this book that I absolutely LOVED while there were other characters who I ABSOLUTELY HATED. There were quite a few characters I wanted to bop on the head. Because of this, my emotions were running high all throughout this book and really hit a peak at the end of the book.

Which brings me to the ending. Ohhhhh boy. Pure evil and genius on Cassandra Clare’s part because now I am going to be pining for the next book for the next 1-2 years. I didn’t know what to do when it finished, I sat there all teary and sad, hugging LoS like it was a baby. Why Cassie?? Why would you do this to me?!?!?!?

Overall I honestly can’t think of any faults. I loved this installment of The Dark Artifices, with all it’s action, humour, love, loss and betrayal. I absolutely CANNOT WAIT for the next book…I think things are going to be HECTIC!!!

Image result for 4.5 stars out of 5

Steff xx

7 comments

  1. Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Very fantastic and well written post.Its extremely good and very helpful for me.Thanks for sharing this great post.
    John Pellow Brisbane

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Orla · July 7

    Who were the characters you loved and the ones you wanted to bop on the head? ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • littlebookynook · July 10

      Ooh the ones I loved – all of the Blackthornes pretty much – especially Mark. The ones I wanted to bop on the head – Zara, Perfect Diego (pretty much all of the Centurions).

      Like

  4. jeffreydhairston · 20 Days Ago

    Thanks very much ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

