Songs that will forever overwhelm me with their awesomeness

Every now and then I love to talk about my other love, music. I can’t even begin to explain what music has done for me, how it has helped, soothed and healed. I can be a bit emo, and I LOVE listening to sad music when I’m sad – I think maybe because it’s nice to listen to a song that understands how you feel.

I thought today I would give a list of some songs that overwhelm me with just how freakin awesome they are. I will probably need to do another list in the future because this list is only a sample. Obviously this is my opinion on awesomeness, I tend to love songs with power chords or a catchy tune.

Resolve – Foo Fighters

Ok firstly. I LOVE DAVE GROHL. SO. MUCH. I think he is one of the most amazing musicians and he is just a brilliant song writer. I absolutely love this song, I have listened to it on repeat many times. No matter what anyone says, I will always believe that this song is about Kurt Cobain.

Relapse – Little Birdy

This is such a beautiful, sad song. The vocals are just amazing, and I find the whole song in general to be quite haunting. I guess you can take whatever meaning you want from this song, but from how I listen to it, it’s about unrequited love. This was actually one of the first songs I heard from Little Birdy and I fell in love with this song straight away.

M.I.A – Borders

I actually could have put every single one of M.I.A’s songs on here, I love her music so much. I think I love her because she gives zero fucks about what anyone thinks, her music is weird and catchy, and her music is about real world issues. This song however, is brilliant, pretty much talking about white privilege and refugees.

Bullet with Butterfly Wings – The Smashing Pumpkins

Ahh this one takes me back to when I was 15, with all my teen angst. “The world is a vampire, sent to drain”…truer words have never been spoken. This song is absolutely brilliant, so much anger and despair. Billy also has hair in this one.

Heart-Shaped Box – Nirvana

This is another band where I could have put every single one of their songs on here. Nirvana were a brilliant band. Their album “Nevermind” was the most popular, but every single album is different and brilliant in it’s own right. This song is just….I actually get teary listening to this song I love it so much. R.I.P Kurt.

Pixies – Where is my mind

I couldn’t find any other good versions of this song on youtube so went with the Fight Club soundtrack (such an awesome song for an awesome, trippy movie). This song is brilliant, and I am actually not sure if it is about scuba diving in the Caribbean or not. Still awesome though and a song I love a lot.

No One Knows – Queens of the Stone Age

Ahhhh this  song is sooooo good!! Listen to the drumming…DAVE GROHL!!! I loved this album, but this song is so freakin cool.

Buddy Holly – Weezer

I was absolutely OBSESSED with this song when I was in highschool. I still listen to this song and just wanna jump around and flail my arms. This was definitely my favourite Weezer album, probably just because of this song hahaha.

Uninvited – Alanis Morissette

This song is so beautiful and haunting. I have been obsessed with this song back from when I first heard it in 2002, it was on a movie soundtrack compilation (this song was for City of Angels). This song is just so amazing.

Savior – Rise Against

Rise Against are a politically based band, so therefore you could take this song a couple of different ways. It could actually be about love or it could be about government, nature…etc. Whatever the meaning, I love this song and once again I think this is another freakin brilliant song.

*******************************

Well I hope you enjoyed  my list of songs. Even if no-one reads this, I had a great time singing along whilst writing this blog!! Happy Sunday everyone!

Steff

3 comments

  1. kung fu in the mud · May 14

    To be honest i thought i’d written this playlist. You have an awesome taste in music. Especially the Pixies! My friends pay me out heaps about liking them but who cares, they’re brilliant!

    Liked by 1 person

    • littlebookynook · May 15

      Why thank you! Lol everyone pays me out for music I like so I know the feeling 😂😂 The Pixies definitely are brilliant, very unique which I gravitate towards 😊 Thanks so much for reading!

      Like

  2. Pingback: One Year On: Little Booky Nook turns 1 | Little Booky Nook

Leave a Reply

