Why I’m A Reader Tag

Happy Friday lovelies!!! I hope you all have had a wonderful week, and you all have a super awesome weekend!!

Today I am doing this tag that I came across at The Orangutan Librarian. I thought it was a lovely little tag to do for a Friday, a nice way to end the week πŸ™‚

Choose one word to describe yourself as a reader

OBSESSED

What is the first book that made you fall in love with reading?

Image result for paul jennings undoneImage result for paul jennings undone

My Grade 2 teacher used to read Paul Jennings books to my class and I absolutely loved it. I also loved the double covers, where there was a picture on the front and on the second cover showed a different version of the cover…I used to think it was super awesome!!!

Hardback or Paperback

I will buy the hardback if the book is a favourite, but generally they are way too expensive. I will therefore usually opt for paperback in the first instance.

How has reading shaped your identity?

I have always been a dreamer and had my head in the clouds. I guess reading just gave me a way to be a bit more “present” without really being present haha.

What book do you read when you want to be comforted?

Image result for heir of fire

I think this book comforts me because in this book Aelin goes through so much. She hits rock bottom and then has to fight her way back into the light, and I think reading her struggle helps me and makes me think that I can be a fighter too.

Who influenced you or taught you to be a reader?

There are a few people I can thank. My mum and dad read books and encouraged my reading. My year 2 teacher who read Paul Jennings. But probably most of all my sister, she would read books and tell me how great they were, and I would usually read them after her. We like very different genres, however I think her love of books infected me πŸ™‚

Describe your dream reading lounge?

A book nook! A marshmellow couch next toΒ a large window to let the light in, and the walls filled top to bottom with books. Also, a few cats and a dogs surrounding me would be great as well.

What book changed how you saw the world?

Image result for a child called it

Because I always lived in my little dream land and read fairytales, this book was a massive eye opener. The amount of abuse this little boy suffered, and the fact that it was based on a true story really knocked me.

Tag…if you want to do it then go ahead. I honestly don’t think I tag people properly so it never works out right. If you do end up doing this tag let me know so I can see your answers πŸ™‚

Now tell me, why do you read? How has it shaped who you are?? Let me know in the comments below!

Steff xx

9 comments

  1. Adoptabookaus · May 12

    A boy called it was one of my first non fic reads and it’s so heartbreaking, My Mum had a big part in my love for reading as well πŸ™‚ Great tag!

    Liked by 1 person

    • littlebookynook · May 12

      I remember being so disturbed by it, I never ended up reading the rest of the series…too sad πŸ˜• Thanks for reading πŸ’œπŸ’œ

      Liked by 1 person

      • Adoptabookaus · May 16

        I read all three and seeing his progress and becoming okay with himself is heartbreaking but also hopeful? He’s just such a strong person to have endured so much hardship, there’s actually another book like it called Child C and the mother would read A Boy Called It to get Ideas on how to torture her child, that book nearly made me physically sick, the mother is such an evil human.

        Liked by 1 person

      • littlebookynook · May 18

        Omg that sounds horrible!!! Did someone really actually write a story like that? Well maybe I will have to read the rest of the series one day πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      • Adoptabookaus · May 18

        It’s a true story! The lady actually had a copy of this book and used it to torture her foster so πŸ˜” people can be so evil

        Liked by 1 person

      • littlebookynook · May 19

        That’s just horrible hey!! Seriously, what is wrong with some people 😦

        Liked by 1 person

  2. journeyintobooks · May 12

    Great tag, your dream reading nook sounds so comfy.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

