A Review: Strange the Dreamer

OMG GUYS!!!! I LOVE THIS BOOK!!!!

I don’t even really know where to begin…oh right, the synopsis

images-4The dream chooses the dreamer, not the other way around—and Lazlo Strange, war orphan and junior librarian, has always feared that his dream chose poorly. Since he was five years old he’s been obsessed with the mythic lost city of Weep, but it would take someone bolder than he to cross half the world in search of it. Then a stunning opportunity presents itself, in the person of a hero called the Godslayer and a band of legendary warriors, and he has to seize his chance or lose his dream forever.

What happened in Weep two hundred years ago to cut it off from the rest of the world? What exactly did the Godslayer slay that went by the name of god? And what is the mysterious problem he now seeks help in solving?

The answers await in Weep, but so do more mysteries—including the blue-skinned goddess who appears in Lazlo’s dreams. How did he dream her before he knew she existed? And if all the gods are dead, why does she seem so real?

Welcome to Weep.

MY THOUGHTS…

Ok, so I had no idea what this book was about. All I knew, was that I loved Laini Taylor after the Daughter of Smoke and Bone trilogy and I needed more of her writing in my life. I never realized what an AMAZING journey I would undertake by reading this book.

Lazlo (main character), is pretty much me. He lives in a dream and he reads while walking. That pretty much just sums me up. Or you could say Lazlo is  a lot like Belle from Beauty and the Beast, I definitely got a bit of a Belle vibe sometimes. And I am a lot like Belle as well (the reading part, not the ridiculous beauty). BUT THIS STORY ISN’T ABOUT ME!!

Image result for i want adventure in the great wide somewhere

This story is about romance and adventure, it is about betrayal and self-discovery. If none of those things tickle your fancy then I don’t know what does. Strange the Dreamer is very much a slow burn book. I will admit that up until the 300 page mark there is a lot of setting up and world-building, with not a great deal happening. However, I found myself excited to turn each and every page of this book because I was intrigued by the characters and what the big reveal was going to be.

I don’t think books have to have heaps of action in them to be interesting. If the author is a good story teller I don’t think it should matter, I want to be taken to another world and I feel that this is EXACTLY what Laini Taylor did to me with this book. I had sooooo many FEELINGS and EMOTIONS, like, I really got hit in the feels with this story.

To me, the world-building was perfect. The world is unveiled little by little so it makes you feel as though you really are discovering this brand new world for the first time.

The plot of course took a while to unravel, and even by the end of the book I feel like the unraveling had only just begun. I feel like so much is going to happen in this series, because this book was quite big and I feel like it only just scratched the surface.

Like I mentioned before, I loved Lazlo but I also  loved the other characters. Not the alchemist though. No, he’s a dick. But I wonder if he is going to be one of those characters who ends up redeeming himself…who knows? I love the other characters though. This is one of those stories where it is very hard to see who is fully good and who is fully bad. I felt very conflicted with my feelings, and I guess that is the whole point isn’t it? Because usually the line between good and bad is very clear cut. I love the blurred lines though, and I think it is going to make for a very interesting sequel.

Overall, I absolutely loved this book. Yes it has been massively hyped as tends to happen in the bookish world, however I honestly 100% believe that the hype was warranted and Laini Taylor should be so proud of the masterpiece she has created.

THIS BOOK GETS 5

Image result for moths

OUT OF 5

Have you read Strange the Dreamer? What did you think, love or hate?

Steff xx

11 comments

  1. thebookcorps · May 1

    Great review! So glad you loved it! I loved it too – so incredible 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Your review has me wanting to read the book. Love the excitement. Hopefully I can find this at the library because it sounds excellent.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Isn’t it absolutely, completely and utterly wonderful and beautiful?!? It gave me all the feels. And the ending…. goodness me! It definatley is a slow burner, took me a good 150 pages to get going with it but so worth it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • littlebookynook · May 4

      It really is hey! That ending was just heart breaking but beautiful. I’m so glad you loved it 😊 Thank you so much for reading my review 💜

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Ahhh wow this sounds like it’s so good- I haven’t had a chance to read it yet- but I will at some point because I, like you, loved Daughter of Smoke and Bone 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Nadine Banna · May 4

    Your review got me soooo excited to read it!! Love these kind of books!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

