Rant: The WORST book series ever written

**WARNING: I will be throwing ALOT of shade at 50 Shades of Grey**

I absolutely HATE 50 Shades of Grey. And I guess you could say it’s with a passion because I will pretty much rant about if I get the chance. I haven’t put my rant into writing yet, and thought I would tell you what I hate about this series. 

The stupid characters

Ana has an inner goddess, whoop-dee-doo. Her inner goddess is obviously dumb as hell if she gets excited about creepy Christian Grey controlling her life. Ana is in a constant state of wonder with her “oh” and “oh my” which you never ever forget because these words are on each page about 60 freakin times. Christian’s family are rich and pretentious because they eat animals instead of humans…sorry wrong (ish) story! 

The stupid plot

Wait! Is there a plot? I’m actually not sure because it gets lost in all the oh’s and inner goddess somersaulting. And the sex, which is nothing to rant about really, is just super detailed and a 5 minute sex-scene goes for 10 pages…borrring! 

The world-building

Ahahahahahahaha!!!!!! 

The sequels

To make things WORSE E.L James thought she’d not only torture us with one stupid book, she brought out another two. And it’s just even more downhill from there. Stalking! Sexual harassment! General creepiness! And no, I’m not just talking about Christian. We get to meet some more super pleasant characters such as Ana’s boss and Christian’s ex. I don’t remember their names. I’m actually surprised I even remember Ana and Christian’s name. 

The author

I don’t hate her personally but I hate her writing and how she has made money off fanfiction of a story that wasn’t even great to begin with. I hate how she is probably one of the worst writers and she’s a freakin millionaire, when there are way more deserving writers out there with sooo much more talent. I hate she is now even richer because her stupid books were turned into stupid movies. 

There, I said it. I wish I never had to think of these terrible books again, however it looks like we will be getting constant reminders as the next 2 movies come out over the next 10 years. Whyyyyy 😭😭

Do you hate these books as much as me? Please share, I need to know I’m not alone in this one. 

Steff xx

27 thoughts on “Rant: The WORST book series ever written

  1. I read the series and realize that people either hate it because it’s poorly written or because it romanticizes an unhealthy relationship. Whatever the reason, I think that most people agree that it is one of the worst series ever written lol

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ahh I’m the same about Fifty Shades- it’s one of my fave go-to rants. Haha yes it’s ridiculous how often she says β€œoh my”. And I agree- what plot or world-building is there? I’ve never read the sequels… and I think that’s one of the best decisions I’ve ever made!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lol yeah I don’t know why I decided to read the sequels…maybe it’s the completionist in me πŸ˜‚ I didn’t end up finishing the last book because I really just did not care at all. I’m glad I’m not the only one who feels like this! So many people seem to like them and I’m just like, no lol. Thanks for reading 😊😊

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Haha i understand that- I’m usually the same. But in this case… πŸ˜‚ Haha you’re really not!! I don’t understand why ANYONE likes this- AMD it’s probably the only book I’d go as far as to say that!! You’re welcome 😊

        Liked by 1 person

  3. LMAO I LOVE THIS !!!!! Reading excerpts of this book was MORE than enough to make me never ever ever want to pick it up. It sounds absolutely awful and extremely harmful with it’s poor representation of BDSM and relationships in general. I saw a post on Facebook once that said if Christian Grey wasn’t like a millionaire or “attractive” (I say that in quotations because gross) it’d be an episode of Criminal Minds not a “Romantic” Erotica and I couldn’t agree more πŸ˜‚ I’m so angry with the success that it’s hard when it promotes such harmful behaviour.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha thank you!! Yeah this book is just yuck, and the movie is just as bad. I watched “Everything wrong with 50 Shades of Grey” by CinemaSins on youtube and it was hilarious, I would recommend you checking it out. Lol I saw that facebook post too! I completely agree with it, it really would be an episode of Criminal Minds because it’s super creepy! Thanks for reading 😊😊

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

