Trilogies I love more than cake

Hello friends!!

I hope you all had a super awesome Easter weekend, and if you don’t celebrate Easter then I hope you had a good weekend!

So A Court of Wings and Ruin (ACOWAR) comes out in like, 2 freakin weeks. I’M SO EXCITED!!!! I am super worried that the court of dreams won’t make it through but I am trying desperately to tuck that fear away. I just want Tamlin to die…is that a bad thing to wish? It feels kinda wrong, but the guy is a MASSIVE douche.

In anticipation of the end of the ACOTAR trilogy, I therefore thought I would list a few of my favourite trilogies. I wanted to put ACOTAR on the list…but then I thought, what if the last book is rubbish? And while it is 99.9% probably not going to be, I don’t want to risk it. So, here is a count down of my favourite trilogies…minus ACOTAR.

P.S – All titles have been linked to book depository

5. The Hunger Games – Suzanne Collins

Image result for hunger games series

This series really opened me up to the dystopian genre (and probably a thousand authors as well if you look at the amount of dystopian novels that came out after this series). You know what annoys me? Ok so I bought the first book because I didn’t want to buy the whole trilogy if I didn’t want to go past the first book. Well, I did want to go past the first and therefore ended up settling for a different cover version for the second book and then the original version for the first and third book. NOT COOL. So now I have a choppy trilogy which does not look pretty 😦

4. A Daughter of Smoke and Bone – Laini Taylor

Image result for a daughter of smoke and bone series

Whilst I felt that this series didn’t finish exactly, I still loved this series. I loved Karou and Akiva and the characters/world Laini created. She really is a wonderful story-teller and I absolutely cannot wait to start Strange the Dreamer.

3. The Infernal Devices – Cassandra Clare

infernal-devices-covers1

I will forever put these books on pretty much every (good) list, because I loved this series SO MUCH! I don’t always love love-triangles, however I honestly believe this series has one of the best love-triangles I have ever read. Will and Jem are just little sweeties, they are the ultimate book boyfriends. Love her or hate her, Cassandra Clare has put together a nice little mythical world for us!

2. A Darker Shade of Magic – V.E.Schwab

Image result for a darker shade of magic series

I just did a lovely little rave about this series a couple of weeks back. I started reading the whole series once A Conjuring of Light came out, which I usually prefer because then I don’t go through so much inner turmoil as I have with *cough, cough* ACOTAR. This series is magic, and stabbiness and pirates (well, a wannabe pirate anyway). If I had a patronus, it would be Delilah Bard.

1. Red Rising – Pierce Brown

Image result for Red Rising series

This series absolutely BLEW MY MIND. Words cannot describe how much I loved this series, I still feel like I haven’t fully comprehended everything that happened. I need to re-read this series again soon because I am pretty sure I missed sooooo many things. If you love dystopian and haven’t read this series yet, please DO SO IMMEDIATELY. You won’t regret it. Believe me!!!!!

Well there you have it, that is my list of favourite trilogies, though with Nevernight, Illuminae and ACOWAR coming out over the next year I will most likely have a new favourites list (maybe). Will Red Rising stay at number 1? Who knows!!

Are any of these trilogies in your favourites list? Or on the other hand, do you hate any of the trilogies I have listed?

Steff xx

 

15 comments

  1. Bookmark Chronicles · April 18

    Totally agree with Infernal Devices and Hunger Games (which also got me interested in dystopia) cause those are the only two that I’ve read so far haha. Red Rising is on my TBR, I’ve heard great things!

    Liked by 1 person

    • littlebookynook · April 18

      If you liked Hunger Games then I think you should like Red Rising….it is seriously amaaaazing. Thanks so much for reading πŸ’œ

      Liked by 1 person

  2. brisbooksite · April 18

    The Infernal Devices was a brilliant trilogy! I don’t understand why people are being so bitter about Cassandra Clare. Let her live her life. Anyway, I agree with you 110% that Tamlin should die in ACOWAR he is a douche! I could go on forever about how much I hate him.

    Liked by 1 person

    • littlebookynook · April 18

      I think it was the whole Harry Potter thing, apparently she wasn’t very nice to people or something? But also people get jealous too and would rather tear her down. Sad really πŸ˜• Lol Tamlin is the worst!!!! Thanks so much for reading 😊😊

      Liked by 1 person

  3. namitha · April 18

    I so want to read no.5, 4 and 2!!! I’ve heard so many great things about those books😊😊

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Literary Weaponry · April 18

    The Shades of Magic are some of the absolute best books I’ve ever read. When people ask me for recommendations A Darker Shade of Magic is usually the first one that pops into my head. Love it. Also, I can’t wait to find out why everyone hates Tamlin so much. I’m nearly done with ACOTAR and so far he hasn’t gone douche so I have to assume it’s upcoming.

    Liked by 1 person

    • littlebookynook · April 18

      Ohhhh yeah you would still be liking Tamlin at the moment…just you wait!!ADSOM is ahhhh-maaaazing 😍😍😍 I can’t wait to hear what you think of Tamlin after ACOMAF πŸ˜€πŸ˜€ Thanks so much for reading πŸ’œ

      Liked by 1 person

  5. raven avery · April 18

    I haven’t heard of red rising but i do like a dystopian so I think I’ll have to check that out πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  6. toomuchofabooknerd · April 19

    The Hunger Games is definitely one of my favourites, even if I don’t always mention it! It’s probably THE series that introduced me to the YA and Dystopian genre and I’m forever grateful!
    And I have just ordered ACOTAR and I can’t wait to finally read it! I hope I’ll manage to read the first two books before the third one comes out! πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    • littlebookynook · April 19

      The Hunger Games really is awesome, and the movies were just as good too because the casting was πŸ‘ŒπŸ‘Œ I hope you enjoy ACOTAR!!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. jeanjeanjeannie · April 19

    Only just finished the second book of the Shades of Magic trilogy and I’m still sobbing quietly in the corner. I need to finish the red rising trilogy too! Only ever finished the first one.

    Liked by 1 person

    • littlebookynook · April 19

      Ohh yeah I’m so glad i read all 3 one after the other and didn’t have to be left with that cliffhanger! I hope you enjoy ACOL, it is sooo good!! I highly recommend you finish the Red Rising series….it gets so hectic lol.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Pingback: BYE APRIL!!!! – Little Booky Nook

Leave a Reply

