A Review: The Song Rising by Samantha Shannon

Happy Monday Everyone!!

I hope you are all having a super swell start off to the week. I am currently watching 13 Reasons Why (it’s taking me a bit to get through)….I think I have enough feelings about this show that I shall do a post about it soon.

Today, however, is dedicated to the 3rd book in the Bone Season series “The Song Rising” by Samantha Shannon.

Image result for the song rising

Synopsis

Following a bloody battle against foes on every side, Paige Mahoney has risen to the dangerous position of Underqueen, ruling over London’s criminal population.

But, having turned her back on Jaxon Hall and with vengeful enemies still at large, the task of stabilising the fractured underworld has never seemed so challenging.

Little does Paige know that her reign may be cut short by the introduction of Senshield, a deadly technology that spells doom for the clairvoyant community and the world as they know it…

 

My thoughts…

I got through this book really quickly because I could NOT put it down! This story follows on from The Mime Order, where Paige turned on Jaxon because despite what he said, didn’t have the best interests of the clairvoyant community at heart. From there we see the introduction of Senshield, and it is pretty much going to make life hell for “unnaturals”. So Paige and company have to do something about it soon or, as per R.E.M’s song, “it’s the end of the world as we know it”.

I have to say, I absolutely love the world that Samantha Shannon has created. Everything about this story is completely original, and I think that is what makes this series so refreshing. Every single detail has been well thought out, from the streets of London to the hierarchy in the Mime Order.

Image result for ghost gif

I had sooooo many feelings whilst reading this book. I am still absolutely IN LOVE with Warden. He is completely different from other male characters in books. He is just this stoic, steady presence in Paige’s life, and whilst their relationship is quite complicated, it would have to be one of my favourites. I think it’s because there is a mutual respect there, and Warden has so much faith in Paige. There is also the whole “forbidden romance” thing going on, which I am always a sucker for 🙂

Image result for forbidden romance gif

The introduction of Senshield really threw a spanner in the works, so I felt a whole lotta anger at stupid Scion and their need to control and eliminate “unnaturals”. Like, come on guys, they’re just like you and me except they can do super awesome stuff with spirits and the like. Reading this series makes me wish I was clairvoyant..and in the past I have thought I had a “sixth sense” because I have had dreams that have come true…but it’s pretty unreliable and only seems to happen when someone is pregnant…weird…I know.

Image result for exterminate gif

I cried a couple of times throughout, because Shannon made sure to rip our poor little hearts out (but in a good way…I guess!). I wish I could just go into all the things that made me sad or mad, but that would be giving away the story and you all really need to read it for yourself. Words can’t express how wonderful, intense, exhilerating and heartbreaking this story was.

Image result for feelings gif

Ok, so if you haven’t read this series you absolutely HAVE TO!! Things have changed so much from the first book and we are only 3 books in. I can’t wait to see what is in store for us over the next 4 books. Samantha Shannon is a brilliant writer and I will pretty much worship her forever now. THAT’S how awesome she is.

Image result for worship gif

This book gets like, a million stars out of five.

5 thoughts on “A Review: The Song Rising by Samantha Shannon

  1. Coincidental moment, I happened to stumble across your blog while listening to my Paige and Warden playlist and was like “Another TBS fan!? YES!” 😂🙈. Seriously reading your review just brought back all of my TSR feels. It really was an unputdownable book and Samantha Shannon is seriously the queen of fantasy/dystopia for me because of her world building 😍. And given what I was listening to I’m completely with you on Paige and Warden. The wait for book four is already torture. Also, I so wish I was voyant too. Anyway! Great review. I enjoyed reading it! Always nice to find a fellow TBS lover. 😁

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh yay another TBS fan!!!! TSR just blew my mind…so much happened and I think it is smaller than the first 2. I love Paige and Warden, I love that it’s not all romance, there is so much at stake with their relationship. Thank you so much for reading my review 💜💜

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

