A Review: A Darker Shade of Magic Series

About a week ago, I commenced a journey into Red, Grey, White and Black London. Last night I concluded this journey, and I have to say….WOW!!!!!!

Image result for a darker shade of magic series

Where do I start?

THE CONCEPT

Completely original. Sometimes it feels like a lot of the stories I read are very alike, someone discovers they have a hidden ability, they become a rebel and go to war to take down the villain. I couldn’t see anything about this story that is like any other story I have ever read. The different Londons. The characters. The magic. The villain. And soooooo many things happened!!! It’s just…WONDERFUL!!!

THE WORLD/S

VE Schwab is AMAZING at world-building. I didn’t feel it was over or under descriptive, it was just right. And the world really…unfurled…kind of like a screen of fog falling away. By Conjuring of Light, there is this feeling of hopelessness and fear which, if a book makes you have such strong feelings, you know that it is because the Author is the bomb at world-building!

THE MAGIC

Magic in this series is like it’s own living, breathing entity. It’s not something that’s just there. I loved the system that Schwab created, the different magic wielders and the rare Antari. I loved learning more about it throughout the series, and the repercussions of using too much or simply just abusing the magic. It’s a weird thing to say, but the magic was actually magical. Like, some books you read and you are like “oh yeah, magic whatever”. But the magic in this book did things. It took us between worlds, it transformed, it built and it broke.

THE CHARACTERS

Delilah Bard is now my favourite female character (apart from Mia Corvere and Aelin). She is extremely peculiar, has a penchant for knives and cross-dressing, and she wants to be a pirate. I found her really funny, especially when she feels proud of herself for not stealing something or killing someone. I loved Prince Rhy, his character really transformed throughout the series which was wonderful to watch. Alucard was also one of my favourites throughout the series, I loved his sense of humour and that there was so much more to him than met the eye. I loved Holland too…I feel he was really misunderstood (it didn’t help he was an ass), but there was a reason why he was the way he was. I don’t see him as a villain…not really sure what to make of him…an anti-hero maybe? Kell…ok, I loved him but maybe sometimes not as much as the rest of the characters. Sometimes I felt he was a bit arrogant, a bit of a know-it-all and had to be the one to save the day.

THE DIVERSITY

I love diversity (and who shouldn’t?!?). This wasn’t an all-white, all-straight, all-able-bodied production. I won’t go into specifics because I don’t want to spoil anything for anyone, but all I can say is HELLS YES! Sarah J Maas needs to take a page from Schwab’s book (har har (pirate laugh)). Can you imagine what would have happened if Maas had written with diversity in her characters like this? Can you imagine how many more fans she would have (I mean, I know she has a lot, but a lot of non-white/straight/able-bodied felt disenfranchised with her series because there was NO representation…and if there was, they either got killed off or excluded from the next book….). I digress!!

THE RELATIONSHIPS

You know what I actually really loved? The fact that everyone wasn’t just best friends. Because that can be quite unrealistic. Like, look at The Mortal Instruments series, where they are all besties. In any group you are going to have personality clashes, even between besties. The relationships in this series, I felt, were realistic. Not everyone loved each other. Not everyone was friends. The parents weren’t absent, they played a big part, and they had an overwhelming amount of love for their sons. And just because people worked together, didn’t mean they had to like each other.

BUTI HAVE QUESTIONS….

There are quite a few things that weren’t answered, that I was really, really looking forward to finding out. So I am a bit disappointed about that. I really hope that these questions get answered some time in the near future…waaah 😦

OVERALL

Loved, loved, loved!!!! This series gave me so many feelings: love, hate, heartbreak, sadness and joy. I think I will have to get the hardcover versions eventually…THAT’S how much I loved these books.

Image result for jack sparrow gif

13 comments

  1. Jasmine · April 6

    I’m sold by your review! Really! I have to make time to read them this year 😊 So glad you love the series!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ah so glad you like this!! Agree with you so much that it’s an absolutely amazing series!! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Yessss this series is absolutely fabulous, I love it so much??!! The world, the characters, the writing, everything was just so beautifully perfect ahhhhh. ❤ ❤ Lovely review!

    Liked by 1 person

    • littlebookynook · April 10

      Yes I think I will be re-reading this series for the rest of my life!! Thanks so much for reading 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Literary Weaponry · April 7

    One of the best trilogies I have ever read. The story, the characters, the depth. Just amazing. Glad you enjoyed them!

    Liked by 1 person

    • littlebookynook · April 10

      I love stories where every little detail has been thought out, so when you are reading you feel like you have completely stepped into a new world…that is exactly what this series did for me! Thanks for reading 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: The Blogger Recognition Award take 2 – BookBum
  6. I love this series so much 😍😍 So glad you enjoyed it too 😀 I’m with on some of the unanswered questions though. Especially in regards to Kell and Lila’s past. I NEED TO KNOW MORE.

    Liked by 1 person

    • littlebookynook · April 10

      It’s so good hey!!! I’m glad I’m not the only one who needs more answers, I really hope we get some soon 😂😂

      Like

  7. Pingback: BYE APRIL!!!! – Little Booky Nook

Leave a Reply

