Top 10 countdown of characters that annoyed the hell out of me

Hey everyone! I hope you are all doing well. And to any of the aussies getting hit by the cyclone please stay safe! I have written soooo many blog drafts this week but posted none of them because I would write and then realise I didn’t like it. Ah well! I was then trying to get to sleep and thought I’d write a list of characters from books that annoyed the hell out of me. It doesn’t necessarily mean I hate the character….they just did things that made me scream internally. 

10. Harry Potter

Please don’t hate me! I put him at number 10 because I actually love Harry, but sometimes he could be just a tad whiney and was rather hooked up on being the chosen one. I also personally feel like he didn’t appreciate Hedwig…just saying. 

9. Lissa Dragomir – Vampire Academy

I really wasn’t a fan of her, but then I wonder if that is in part due to the TERRIBLE movie. Lissa was just a bit helpless and delicate. She got a bit better throughout the series but most of the time she just annoyed me.

8. Scarlett – Caraval

I straight up just didn’t like her. I found her to be whiney, prudish and a bit of a wet blanket. I liked her sister waaaaay better which is a pity because it was only from Scarlett’s PoV.

7. Dobby – Harry Potter

I feel bad writing this one down because I really did love Dobby, like Harry. I just thought he did some idiotic things, and I know they were out of love….but maaan he really pushed it sometimes. I felt more exasperated with him…which I guess is how Harry felt!

6. Parents – The Mortal Instruments 

What is it with parents in YA? They are either non-existant or they are super annoying. The Lightwood parents struck me as unsmiling, uncaring parents (especially where Jace was concerned, even though they took him in) and Clary’s mum was even a bit…meh. I guess it didn’t help that Clary and the crew were a bunch of special snowflakes!!

5. Mare – The Red Queen series

One of the reasons this book was a DNF is because I couldn’t stand her internal dialogue. Mare was bitter and I found I really disliked her. I have heard she gets better throughout the series…but I don’t care enough to find out. 

4. Lena Duchannes – Beautiful Creatures 

This whole series was rather underwhelming for me, but I really didn’t like Lena. She was pretty mean to Ethan, like, he would do anything for her and she was just a bitch to him. I know she had alot going on, but while I was reading these books it didn’t feel like there was much love there. I loved Ridley though…a bad girl who absolutely loved being bad!

3. Amir – The Kite Runner

You can tell I generally stick to fantasy! But every now and then I try and read something contemporary or something other than fantasy to ‘branch out’. This character was a really, really hard one for me to like. I was annoyed with him throughout the whole book because he really wasn’t a very nice person. The way he treated his beautiful friend Hassan was just horrible, and he was such a selfish child and man. Sure, he ended up redeeming himself a little but I found it hard when he was a pretty shitty petson through 3/4 of the book. 

2. Sookie Stackhouse – The Sookie Stackhouse series

It’s funny because I actually forgot she had abilities…they really got forgotten as the series progressed (or went downhill…whatever you wish to call it). Sookie was alright to start with. She was perky and upbeat but sometimes a bit of an idiot. By the last book I wanted to slap her. Like…aaargh. She had someone who loved her, and she was freakin horrible to him. She deliberately went out of her way to hurt him, she was selfish and stubborn. Well I hope Sookie’s happy…the idiot 😬

1. Everyone – Twilight

Ugh they’re all just a sad bunch of individuals. Edwards all “Ohhh Bella I love your blood that sings to me” and Bella’s all “I’m a unique.rebel” while Jacob’s all testosterone who falls in love with a baby who has a stupid name. The Cullen’s believe they are superior to everyone in there stupid airy house with animal meat. And Everyone else comes across as stupid and naive. They are ALL idiots!! 

Well I hope you liked my countdown! Do you agree/disagree with any of the characters on my list? Who would you put on your list? Let me know šŸ™‚

Steff xx

11 comments

  1. Vicki · March 30

    I have never read any of thise or know the characters šŸ˜¢

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Reads & Reels · March 30

    Lmao! The Twilight one though! šŸ˜‚ I agree with you about so much of this! I couldn’t even watch True Blood on TV case Sookie made me want to puke.
    Dobbie? A little house elf? He just didn’t know any better. Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

    • littlebookynook · March 31

      Haha yeah I couldn’t pinpoint one person in Twilight. Yeah Sookie was super annoying hey. And she hated on Eric…but he was waaaay better than stupid Bill! Haha yeah, I feel bad about Dobby. I know he thought he was doing the right thing so I should cut him some slack. Thanks for reading šŸ˜Š

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Kiersten · March 30

    All of your comments for #1 made me laugh šŸ˜‚

    Liked by 1 person

  4. A Fangirls Opinion · March 30

    I had to read The Kite Runner for A-Level and I’ve never hated a character more than Amir, he was just so selfish and annoying!! Great post! X

    Liked by 1 person

    • littlebookynook · March 31

      Yes!! He really is just a terrible person. I never felt sorry for him because he brought it on himself most of the time. Thank you so much for reading šŸ˜Š

      Liked by 1 person

  5. onespeculiar · March 31

    your posts make me smile

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Brooke · April 2

    You should totally give Khaled Hosseini another chance. “A thousand splendid suns” is a beautiful book. I liked The Kite Runner, but I loved A thousand splendid suns.

    Liked by 1 person

    • littlebookynook · April 2

      I will have to read A thousand splendid suns, I loved Khaled’s writing, it was brilliant. I liked the Kite Runner…just found the MC not very nice (I liked all the other characters though). Thanks gor reading šŸ’œ

      Like

Leave a Reply

