A Cautionary Tale…Spending  $$ and The Hate U Give

Cue major blushing and generally feeling like an idiot….

Ok, soooo….this week I was decreasing my antidepressants which made me majorly depressed and anxious. With that and some other things going on in my life, this week was tough as hell. I’m not out of it yet, I’m hoping with a bit more rest I’ll be back to my happy self.  

Anyway!! Alot of you may have seen that Emma Watson has been leaving books around on subways and trains, because she wants to make people happy and get them into reading. I watched a video on Wednesday and I got super excited about it…I was like, I wanna do it too!! 

I was reading The Hate U Give at the time, and this book is just amazing. It made me laugh and cry, it made me angry and it made me think. It’s a confronting book and poignantly tackles racism and black oppression. As I was reading I was thinking “this is a book EVERYONE needs to read”. I had just seen what Emma Watson did and had just been thinking how I wanted to do it…what better book to start with, than a book EVERYONE needs to read?

Now like I said, I was in a really, really bad headspace. I wanted to crawl into a hole and stay there and not ever come back out. I wanted to do something that would make me feel happier and also make other people happier. So on impulse, I go on booktopia and buy FIVE COPIES of THUG. FIVE.COPIES.

You know who’s a millionaire? Emma Watson. You know who isn’t a millionaire and probably never will be? Me! But none of this goes through my head because I am saving people through literature. I feel like a book saint, spreading the word that racism is alive and is something that everyone needs to be aware of. Is this a form of white guilt? Shit, probably. 

I paid for those lovely five copies of THUG  (on credit card OF COURSE) plus shipping (next day so worth the money). And felt so, so happy with myself. I walked with a spring in my step…for about 10 minutes, until reality came back to greet me and I was back to feeling super crappy again. 

I have the books getting delivered to me, along with some stickers (which I also paid for), and will leave the books in spaces where people will find them and read them. That’s the dream of course. But my little project was all fine and dandy until my husband looked at the bank statement….and was like “Steff what did you spend $90 on?”. It hit me then…I’m pretty sure I could have done this ALOT cheaper…and maybe thought it through some more, and discussed it for a few days before buying. 

That being said, I am still super excited about leaving the books on trains because I personally feel that this is such an important book. Australia is definitely not absent of racism, just look at how our indigenous were treated and are still being treated. Look at anyone who is a shade off white who is subjected to threats, abuse etc. So yeah, my heart was in the right place…

If you take anything from this, let it be that you should try and not make impulse decisions whilst you aren’t in a good frame of mind. That can be hard to do obviously, otherwise it wouldn’t be called “impulse”. But discuss it with someone who can put things in perspective for you. It may help. It may not. But it’s worth trying. 

If you are in Brisbane, keep an eye out for copies of The Hate U Give on the trains. I spent a pretty penny on it so please be kind to it 😶

And finally, to everyone else – read The Hate U Give. Its amazingly good 💜💜

Steff xx

22 comments

  1. Literary Weaponry · March 25

    That’s a lovely thing to do. Sure, the 90$ may have been a bit more than you wanted to spend but at the end of the day maybe someone who really needs it will find one of those books. Maybe you’ll change a life. I think that’s worth 90$.

    Liked by 2 people

    • littlebookynook · March 25

      Thank you 😊 Yeah I think it’ll be worth it in the end. I’m going to keep leaving books on trains, I might just make it a bit cheaper next time hehe.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Aww. Steff! I think that was a lovely thing you did, although it cost you more money than you wanted to spend. I have this book on my Kindle and just need to find the time to read it in between NetGalley eARCS!🤗

    Liked by 1 person

  3. JJAzar · March 25

    Super cool of you to take it upon yourself to do this! Great stuff!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. 4thhouseontheleft · March 25

    Awww…I think you did an amazing thing! I used to live in Brisbane, I have quite a few friends who would love to come across THUG in a random place!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. theorangutanlibrarian · March 25

    Aww this is an absolutely lovely thing to do!!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Ahhh what a touching story. I hope you’ve been feeling better lately, but know that your impulse decision tells a lot about your own beautiful personality! Millionaire or not, you went on to buy 90$ worth of books in hopes of changing the lives of a couple individuals curious enough to pick it up. Definitely more impressive than what Emma Watson did since she could probably go ahead an buy a whole library for 1000000 people if she wanted to! 😛 Anyways, know that you’re awesome! 😀

    – Lashaan

    Liked by 1 person

    • littlebookynook · March 28

      Thats so lovely, thank you so much 😊😊 That is true about Emma Watson, thank you for putting it in perspective 💕

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Vicki · March 26

    You have made me cry. You are the nicest loveliest person. The world is blessed

    Liked by 1 person

  8. This is really the sweetest thing I have heard in a while. You’re awesome! You make me wanna go do this now… Just trying to decide which books to leave around 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • littlebookynook · March 30

      Thank you! You totally should do it!! Just try and do it cheaper than what I did haha! And if you do end up doing it, you can get stickers to put on them so people know they can take them. I think one of the places in America you can get them from is Books on the Underground 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Briana · March 30

    I know how you feel. Sometimes I want to give all the books to all the people, and then I think “Maybe I have to give the books on sale to some of the people.” :p It’s a great idea, though!

    Liked by 1 person

    • littlebookynook · March 30

      Getting books that are on sale is a good idea. And you don’t have to buy a hole heap like I did, you can probably just buy one here and there and leave them around 😊 Thanks for reading!!

      Liked by 1 person

  10. I totally feel you on the impulse-buying thing. I tend to do that A LOT and then afterwards I’m like “well, I probably could have handled that better” 😂 This is such a lovely idea though. Hopefully they’ll get into the hands of someone who needs the book, but can’t afford it or someone who needs to be educated and will have their perspective changed.

    Liked by 1 person

    • littlebookynook · March 31

      Haha yeah I feel like I impulse buy every week! Yeah I really hope they end up in good hands…it does make me a bit nervous, I really hope they don’t end up getting chucked in the bin. I’m just gunna think positively 😊 Thanks for reading 💜

      Like

  11. Pingback: One Year On: Little Booky Nook turns 1 | Little Booky Nook

Leave a Reply

