A Poem

I have written a poem that I would like to share with you all. I’m not one of the greatest poets out there, I wouldn’t even call myself a poet. I just have a lot of feelings that I needed to express.

Broken

I think about you every day. Your laugh, your wit, your sarcasm.
The way you make yourself like a brick wall, impenetrable and sturdy
But on the inside you are broken; fractured and crumbling
You are drifting out to sea, and I am standing on the shoreline
I am watching you flail, I can’t help
Because you don’t want me to
Because you think you can swim on your own
That you won’t drown
That the weeds won’t pull you down further until you are out of breath
You think the weeds are helping you, keeping you tethered to the earth
But they have latched themselves on, and are holding you down
I would save you if I could
Cut the weeds that have wrapped themselves around your arms and legs
Pull you to the surface and breathe air into your lungs
Drag you to the shoreline and wrap you up in my unconditional love
For now, I will send a life-boat to you
You can grab hold of it whenever you need
Because I love you
Because I need you back on the shoreline
Because you are worth something to me, and I refuse to let you go.

Steff xx

 

7 comments

  1. I love it, Steff.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. nairama · March 20

    aah the imagery is so real… you should write more! its good!

    Like

  3. avathenerd · March 21

    Great poem, Steff!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. K. A. Botello · March 22

    You perfectly captured that helpless feeling of watching a loved one struggle. This poem makes my heartache, I hope writing it made you feel a little better!

    Liked by 1 person

    • littlebookynook · March 22

      Thank you so much! It was hard to write and I think it helped a little…writing is good at that isnt it ☺ Thank you for reading it 💜

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

