How to NOT write a book

Howdy, howdy, howdy! I hope everyone is super swell this week and you are all getting a whole heap of reading done!

For those who don’t know, I have been aiming to write a book by the end of the year…for quite a few years now. I start writing my story because I am super motivated and inspired, and then I get side-tracked and lose confidence in myself. But mostly side-tracked. For those of you trying to write a book, I thought I would give you the opposite of advice…this is all based on past and current experience.

How to NOT write a book

1. Read a book, or many books, or a whole book series

Nothing like being super invested in a book series to take up all your time. If you want to keep yourself from doing anything other than writing, read the Terry Patchett Discworld series – which has about 40 volumes.

Image result for reading gif

2. Facebook

Definitely will take up a lot of your time. Spend hours laughing at dogs falling off chairs or memes about how much of an idiot Donald Trump is. I guarantee you won’t get ANYTHING done.

Image result for meme

3. Twitter

Stalk celebrities, read your feed which updates every second with 95 new tweets. Tweet about how you really want to write your book but don’t have any time (is this something I have done? Who knows…)

Image result for no time gif

4. Watch movies

Oh they will keep you super inspired and may give you ideas for your own world you are creating. But don’t write it down, because otherwise you will write it down…which leads to writing…which leads to a story being written.

Image result for lazy gif

5. Play with your cats or dogs, or turtle

This one is self-explanatory really. Animals are cute and they do cute things. If you stop watching them you might miss something extra adorable. No time for writing when you are watching your cat skid around on a plastic bag throughout the house.

Image result for cat gif

6. Get invested in a new tv show

Riverdale? Check. OA? Check. Or hey, be like me and start the 39-disc box set of Buffy…because you know, Buffy.

Image result for buffy gif

7. Fix up your GoodReads list

Make sure it is super up-to-date with all your latest reads and fix up your shelves. This will keep you busy throughout the time you should be writing. There is nothing better than being organised!

Image result for organised gif

8. Go for a run

Yeah this one isn’t as fun, but being fit can be fun…I guess. To be honest, I don’t usually choose this option if I am looking to fill up some time. To go for a run, you need motivation. And that’s what friends are for.

Image result for run gif

9. Snapchat

Take pics of yourself with flowers on your head, or in a milk carton. Take videos of yourself singing (9 to 5 is a personal favourite of mine). Bombard your friends. They will love you for it.

Image result for selfie gif

10. Go and buy a packet of Oreos. Sit and eat whilst watching Netflix.

Mmmmm Oreos. I don’t know why, but these cookies are just ridiculously delicious. What makes them so different from other cookies? No joke, there have been times when I have eaten a whole box in one sitting.

Image result for oreos gif

************************************************************************

I hope you all enjoyed my list. Now I will go back to watching TV and thinking about writing my book.

Steff xx

7 comments

  1. I’m apparently very successful at not writing books; I keep telling myself that I’ll get to it this November for NaNoWriMo to sort of force a deadline on myself. I just want to say your gif choice is top notch and this post was great!

    Liked by 1 person

    • littlebookynook · March 15

      Haha yeah I did NaNoWriMo last year…pretty sure I got like, 2000 words done haha. But I’ll probably give it another go this year 🙂 I love gifs, there is one for every occasion! Thank you so much for reading 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow… I couldn’t agree more with this list! Lol! 😜

    Liked by 1 person

  3. The Hermit Librarian · March 15

    These are all very good methods. 😉

    Speaking of watching Netflix, how did you like The OA? That one seriously messed with my head! There better be a second season!

    Liked by 2 people

    • littlebookynook · March 15

      Yeah OA messed with my head too!! I’d say they would make another season, they tend to do that with everything now whether it’s required or not. Thanks for reading 😊😊

      Liked by 1 person

      • The Hermit Librarian · March 16

        You’re welcome!

        I still have so many questions! I mean, what was real, what wasn’t, will we ever find out?

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

