Today’s ramblings: the bad, baaaad ending of a series

I have had this gripe for a while now…since 2013 to be precise. There was this particular book series that I was reading, it ended up being 13 books long, and the ending was absolutely terrible. I remember reading the last page and thinking “what the f%^&”. I was so, so disappointed. And I mean, the series had taken a decline since about the 9th book but I kept reading them, hoping for something more.

I was trying to be loyal to an Author, let’s name her Cheryl, who as it seems, did not give two damns about her audience. And I guess that is fine in some instances, but I remember the ending being so bad that people were actually sending Cheryl hate mail (which in no way do I condone). While hate mail is never warranted, it shows that other loyal fans like myself, felt that they had 110% been crapped on.

Here is where I think the story went wrong:

Cheryl didn’t like her characters anymore

Image result for i hate you so much right now gif

You could tell this in the way she wrote her characters. There was no flare, no depth and they had no direction. The characters didn’t care about each other anymore, probably because Cheryl didn’t.

Cheryl wrote the book…just to write another book

Image result for do I have to? gif

From the first page, it was noticeable that Cheryl had already checked out. Main characters who I’m guessing she didn’t like anymore, decided to make decisions not in line with their character or the rest of the story. The book was rushed but not a lot really happened, just the whole “tying up loose strings”. It was boring and you could tell that Cheryl was bored writing it.

The book series was too long

Image result for on and on gif

13 books is a lot for a book series, so you really want to hope that the story warrants that many books. Hey, there are some series that do go for this long because they are epic. Robert Jordon’s Wheel of Time series goes for 14 books. Laurell K Hamilton has managed to get into the 20’s with her Anita Blake Vampire Series. This series in particular definitely did not warrant the 13 books. From the 10th book onwards at the end of each I would think “this is it surely”. But no, it kept going until it withered away.

Cheryl was desperate to wrap it up

Image result for that's very interesting gif

And because of this, we ended up with the whole ‘main character decides life isn’t complete without children and settles down with someone who wasn’t a love interest SINCE BOOK ONE!!!’. The main love interest throughout the whole freakin’ series just rocks up on her front porch one day and says like a robot “I’m moving away, you aren’t coming with me”. AND SHE DOES NOTHING ABOUT IT!!! Because Cheryl just doesn’t care.

************************************************************************

Now I haven’t said what book this is because there may be others out there who are slogging their way through this series and they deserve the right to make their own decision. However, if you have an inkling on what show, I mean series, this might be…then tell me below without naming names. And then tell me whether you agree and if you believed the ending was as crappy as I thought it was.

I hope you enjoyed today’s ramblings!!

Steff xx

 

 

7 thoughts on “Today’s ramblings: the bad, baaaad ending of a series

  1. I think I am going to commit to just single books, as much as possible. Maintaining interest through multiple books is such a struggle. I would rather tell a standalone story and the move on! I have definitely read a series or two where I felt like that author was just stringing the reader along, and that is always frustrating.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah I think writing a series is good if you have the whole thing mapped up and you know what each books purpose is. I think there are some authors who dont have an end planned and the books take weird turns and readers get sick of it. I like standalones and the whole moving on to something else 😊

      Like

  2. For a minute I thought you were talking about A Series of Unfortunate Events and I started panicking because I’m so close to ending that series, but then I realised no, it’s something else entirely. It is a shame when books go downhill – I’ve not come across one quite as bad as you described, thankfully, but I am starting to almost despise a very famous 6 book series that’s almost finished. It’s like, how does an author suddenly hate their own characters? Astounds me. Awesome post!! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha I can see how you thought that, I re-read it and I was like Ooops!! Yeah I don’t know how they can hate their characters either, they were the ones who created them!! And it doesn’t do the Author any favours because readers lose faith in them. Thanks for reading 😊😊😊

      Like

    1. Yay I’m glad you know what I’m talking about!!! Yeah don’t do it, it’s not worth your time. Its like, twists in plots can be awesome, but not when they take a massive nose dive like this particular series!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I have no idea whatsoever what this might be. Now I am really curious…
    I naturally gravitate to standalones so luckily I don’t have this issue. But yes, I can definitely see how it would be annoying. It really sucks when authors write out of obligation.

    Like

Leave a Reply

