Movies that helped shape who I am

Mondays are such a struggle!! I wish Mondays weren’t a thing, but then we’d hate Tuesdays, Wednesdays…etc. I hope you all had a super swell weekend wherever you are in the world.

I’m always thinking of random things to post about, and while it is always going to be predominantly about books, movies and music are also loves of mine. Today, I thought I would do a list of movies that I think really helped shape who I am as a person. While doing the list up, I thought it really does explain a lot about me. I have a weird sense of humour, I sing randomly especially if someone says something that reminds me of a song, I have a bit of a goth side and tend to live in a bit of a fairytale (in my head).

Art really can make an impact on a person, either in a good or bad way. And I think this is why the people who create this art need to be mindful of things that are problematic, and really listen to their audience when they provide feedback.

The Pirate Movie

Image result for the pirate movie

I recently watched this movie and realised how terrible it is. Like, it is really, really bad. I still love it however, because it is cheesy and because my sisters and I used to watch it when we were kids. I love the music and quoting lines i.e. when I knock on a door, I say “Avon callllingg”.

Star Wars

Image result for star wars

No list of mine is complete without Star Wars. I have watched this movie since I was a little girl, and while I didn’t completely understand it I have always loved it. I will always love this series and how it calls to the nerdy side of me.

The Rocky Horror Picture Show

Image result for the rocky horror picture show

I kid you not, I was 9 when I first watched this movie. I had NO IDEA what it was about, but I have absolutely loved this movie from the start. My sisters and I would re-watch this move over and over and over. We know all of the words to the songs off by heart. I fangirl whenever I see anything Rocky Horror related.

The Wizard of Oz

Image result for the wizard of oz

Another movie I was totally obsessed with when I was little. I used to make my mum call me Dorothy and I would wear my hear like Dorothy.

Return to Oz

Image result for return to oz

This movie was a bit on the dark side, and it’s another movie I watched where I had no clue what was actually happening. I think this movie definitely contributed to my gothy side because it is kind of depressing and absolutely nothing like it’s predecessor.

The Addams Family

Image result for the addams family

Do kids just constantly re-watch the same movies? Because I watched this one to death as well. I identified with Wednesday, so much. Dorothy and Wednesday are really different sides of the coin aren’t they!

Terminator

Image result for terminator 1

This one is a bit of a random one on my list, but I have always loved the Terminator movies and have watched them since I was little. The soundtracks, the action…it all appealed to me as a kid, and while I’m not exactly sure how this one helped shape who I am, I’d like to think that if John Connor needed my assistance, I would kick ass.

Beauty and the Beast

Image result for beauty and the beast

Ohhhhhh I love this movie so much. I have always identified with Belle…being the odd one out, loving books and just off in my own little world. This movie is my forever and always 🙂

Space Balls

Image result for space balls

Another completely random one on my list, but necessary. Not only did it have awesome references to Star Wars, I think I just loved the stupid humour. Like, really, really stupid. And like I mentioned at the start, I have a weird sense of humour and people don’t always get it and I like to think that Space Balls contributed in some way.

************************************************************************

So tell me, what movies do you think shaped you as a person? Do you identify with any of the movies that I have mentioned above? Let me know 🙂

Steff xx

 

14 thoughts on “Movies that helped shape who I am

  1. Rocky Horror Picture show is one of the best movies of all time! I watched it about the same age as you and then I went to see it at the theatre when I was around 13/14, it was amazing! If I did this post, some movies I would mention would be The Neverending Story (which is probably the sole reason I’m so emotionally charged nowadays, that film ruined me as a child), Ratatouille, The Shining (weird, I know) and the first 3 Jason Bourne films 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh yay another Rocky Horror fan!!!! It really is the best hey, and I take it personally when I get people to watch it and they dont like it 😭 Ahhh I had the Never Ending story on my list but forgot to put it on! I think it ruined alot of kids, why did they do that to us?!?! I LOVE how you’d have the Shining!! I’ve never seen the Jason Bourne movies, I probably should!! Thanks for reading 😆😆😆

      Liked by 1 person

      1. The Neverending Story is just evil! When the horse KILLS ITSELF I’m thinking “why put that in a kids movies?!?!?!!?” LOL.
        Yes, The Shining is one of my favourite films of all time haha, I watched it at a very young age too, maybe about 10 or 11. My mum wasn’t worried about scarring or scaring me lol. Yes, Jason Bourne films are easy, fun-to-watch thrillers 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s funny how when you’re young, you watch movies you can’t even wrap your head around. That was me with Austin Powers! Let’s just say I understood it a whole lot better when I grew up a bit. Great list! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

