Books I’ve hugged recently

A while back I did a post on books that I like to hug when I finish them. I have always been like this, and I think it really is kind of like giving a book 5 stars. When I finish a book that I loved I sit there for a bit and hug the book and sometime get a bit teary. Creepy? Maybe! But at least my books know I love them haha!

So anyway, here is a couple of the books I hugged recently….enjoy!

Nevernight – Jay Kristoff

nevernight-jay-kristoff

Man I had sooooo many feelings at the end of this glorious book. So much happened by the end, that I was left shocked and intrigued and left with so many questions. Mia is up there with one of my favourite female characters. She is brutally honest, which also comes through in her colourful language and she is quite skilled. The end of this book left me with so many different emotions, I hugged it for a good while!

The Mime Order – Samantha Shannon

the-mime-order

What do you get when you read ‘Mime’ in reverse – Emim. If you have read both of these books you will be like, “Oooooohhh!”. This book is the 2nd in the series and left a lot of questions to be answered and some “holy sh*t” moments. So, of course this book got a massive hug. But it was more like a clinging on as though I could squeeze some answers out of it!!!

The Name of the Wind – Patrick Rothfuss

tnotw

I have recommended this book before, because it is brilliant. The world-building, character depth…everything, is just amazing. I gave this book a massive hug because I really feel for Kvothe, even though I don’t know the whole story yet.

Illuminae – Jay Kristoff and Amie Kaufman

illuminae

I haven’t put Gemina on this list because to be honest, I thought it fell short of what this book achieved. When I got to the end of Gemina, I didn’t hug it…I felt intrigued to see where the story was going to go but it just didn’t invoke the same feelings I felt when reading Illuminae. Illuminae is the first book I have read where I felt like I didn’t breathe until the ending. It was fast paced, like watching an action movie. When I got to the end, I was exhausted..but a good exhausted!! I loved the characters in this one as well, so, of course it got a hug πŸ™‚

Wayfarer – Alexandra Bracken

wayfarer

While Wayfarer did take me a little bit to get into, mostly because I didn’t re-read Passengers first, by the half way mark I was back into the swing of things. It was non-stop action from there and I was rushing to the end, freaking out that there wasn’t enough pages to sort everything out. It ended up rounding off really well (in my opinion), and I was teary at the end and gave it hug and even did a little twist thing, like when you are hugging your favourite teddy bear.

Daughter of Smoke and Bone series – Laini Taylor

dosab

I LOVED THIS SERIES SO MUCH!!!! I love Karou, Akiva and all the other characters in their world. Laini is such an amazing story teller, I found she really has a way of building suspense and doesn’t add commas which keeps the action rolling along and you don’t want to breathe until it gets to the full stop (see what I did there!!). In a lot of cases you would think its just poor grammar, but I would NEVER accuse Laini of this. It works so well! Anyway, moving on from commas, these books were quite simply amazing. I hugged each and every one of them, and will probably just randomly stop by my bookshelf and hug them every now and then…just to make sure they know they are still loved!!

************************************************************************

I have now just reminded you all again (if you needed reminding) that yes, I am a weirdo. So what are your thoughts? Do you hug your books or kiss them or anything like that? Or am I the only book hugger in the world??

Steff xx

25 comments

  1. shelfiepodcast · February 16

    I hug my Daughter of Smoke and Bone boxed set from time to time. πŸ˜›

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Elou Carroll · February 16

    I can tell you now, you’re going to hug The Song Rising too! It’s such a great addition to The Bone Season series. So, so good.

    I have Daughter of Smoke and Bone on my TBR, I should probably get a move on with it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • littlebookynook · February 16

      Ohhh yay!! I can’t wait to read The Song Rising!!! I highly recommend DOSAB, its quite original and the writing is soooo good 😊 Thanks for reading!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Amongst All Else · February 16

    Illuminae is sitting on my shelf unread, I guess it needs some love around about now! πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Emma The Book Lover · February 17

    I was the same for Wayfarer, but I was so satisfied with the ending ❀

    Liked by 1 person

  5. theorangutanlibrarian · February 17

    haha so lovely to meet another book hugger!! And I definitely cradled Illuminae in my arms when I read it!! And I LOVED the Daughter of Smoke and Bone series!!

    Liked by 2 people

  6. ScribblersCloud · February 19

    hahaha I do this too! YEARSSS ago I did it with The Infernal Devices series – especially Clockwork Princess…more recently I did it with Gemina :p

    Liked by 1 person

    • littlebookynook · February 20

      I totally hugged the Infernal Devices!!! I’m glad that there are other book huggers out there πŸ™‚ Thanks for reading!

      Like

  7. ScribblersCloud · February 19

    oh yes, and I hugged the crap out of daughter of smoke and bone! I can’t wait for Strange the Dreamer!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • littlebookynook · February 20

      Yeah I have heard really good things about Strange the Dreamer. If Daughter of Smoke and Bone is anything to go by, it’s going to be amazing!!!

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Pamela Nicole · February 28

    Oh noooo, I can’t remember the last book I hugged! But I totally agree on hugging Daughter of Smoke and Bone! And I hope I’ll feel like hugging Nevernight too! I have it but haven’t read it yet.

    Liked by 1 person

    • littlebookynook · March 1

      Oh I hope you will want to hug Nevernight too, I loved that book soooooo much!

      Like

      • Pamela Nicole · March 1

        Yay! I’m excited about reading it. I picked it up a while ago, and attempted to read while in class sometimes but I just realized it wasn’t the kind of book you read in a rush. I didn’t want to have a bad reading experience so I decided to leave it for when I was on break. And that is soon!

        Liked by 1 person

      • littlebookynook · March 1

        Yeah I can definitely understand that. It can be a bit hard to read with all of the footnotes, I probably won’t read them when I re-read it (they’re pretty funny though). I hope you enjoy it πŸ™‚

        Like

  9. Adoptabookaus · March 10

    I loved Gemina so much but Illuminae has my heart they both pulled at me heart strings and made me second guess everything XD I can’t wait for book 3 where all the characters are kicking ass together I think that book is going to be the most hug-able ever. Also Nevernight, DOSAB yes! I loved these so much. Great list

    Liked by 1 person

    • littlebookynook · March 13

      I know I can’t wait for the next book!!! I hope it’s better than Gemina…not that Gemina was bad, but I just didn’t think it as great as Illuminae (on a side-note I was calling Gemina “Gemima” lol…so embarrassing). I can’t wait for Godsgrave to come out in September…I hope it’s as awesome as Nevernight πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      • Adoptabookaus · March 14

        bahahaha Gemima xD that just reminds me of the playschool show lmao Ever sneak peak I have of Godsgrave makes me excited I can’t wait to see the cover art for the US and UK editions, I love that I have no idea where the plots going to go with both Illuminae 3 and Godsgrave actually they end with me yelling for the next book just because I want to see what crazy journey is next.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

