Twilight: A Re-read

Once upon a time, there was a girl who read a book about sparkly vampires. At this point in her life, she hadn’t exactly discovered which genre she was into which meant she didn’t read a great deal. Twilight was gifted to her on her birthday and she soon became obsessed with the sparkly vampire world. After reading the Twilight series twice (in a row) she moved on to bigger and better books, discovering that there are authors out there with better skill and imagination. For eight years, her Twilight collection sat on her bookshelf gathering dust.

One extremely hot summer day in January 2017, the girl was pondering what sort of topics she could write about in her blog. Looking at her book collection which has grown considerably over the years due to a probable book addiction, her eye caught on a black cover with hands holding a red apple. She then thought what an excellent idea it would be to re-read Twilight and review it, because back in 2008 she devoured the book in a day….easy as pie, right?

Little did she know, the quest she had set upon herself….

Synopsis:

Image result for twilight coverWhen Isabella Swan moves to the gloomy town of Forks and meets the mysterious, alluring Edward Cullen, her life takes a thrilling and terrifying turn. With his porcelain skin, golden eyes, mesmerizing voice, and supernatural gifts, Edward is both irresistible and impenetrable. Up until now, he has managed to keep his true identity hidden, but Bella is determined to uncover his dark secret.

What Bella doesn’t realise is that the closer she gets to him, the more she is putting herself and those around her at risk. And it might be too late to turn back…

Deeply seductive and irresistibly compelling, Twilight is an extraordinary love story that will stay with you long after you have turned the final page.

Review

Where on earth do I start?

Ok, so in the end I shamefully was unable to finish this book. Why? Firstly, because I absolutely cannot stand Bella. She is terribly miserable and negative about every single aspect of her life, and I really cannot understand why. I don’t know if it is intentional that she is like this, but it really makes for difficult reading. She describes herself as a freak, as “too white”, as socially awkward. For one, what the hell makes her a freak? She is not an X-Men who has the ability to take people’s life-force and therefore has to wear gloves all of the time. No, she is a privileged white girl who’s parents split up when she was little and she had to split time between two houses. If that makes her a freak, then myself along with 60% of the world (that’s a made up number, I have no idea what the percentage is) are freaks.

Image result for no gif

Being socially awkward also doesn’t make you a freak. Neither is being “too white” (seriously what the hell??). And she mentions people not understanding her sense of humour…ummm, maybe that’s because YOU DON’T HAVE ONE!!! I don’t see her make a joke or laugh at a joke any time throughout the book. She gets snippy and blushes alot, that’s about it!!

Image result for no gif

I also put this book down because Stephanie Meyer is NOT a good writer. The structure of her sentences are poor, she said the word “chatterer” (is that even a word??), she uses the word “gotten” a gazillion times – which I absolutely hate, and I find that the way she wrote from Bella’s point of view to be boring and miserable.

Image result for no gif

The other thing I realised I don’t like about this book, which I didn’t realise back when I first read Twilight, is how this is a story about an obsessive, unhealthy relationship. Stalking for one, is not romantic – it’s creepy. Giving up your friends and life for a gorgeous guy is not romantic either. The way she treats her Father is horrible, not just in this book but the rest of the series as well. Her only focus is Edward and his perfect family, because her family and friends aren’t good enough for her.

Image result for no gif

This book actually really annoyed me, and it is safe to say that I won’t be reading it or the other books in this series again. I never get rid of any of my books, however the Twilight books will soon be delivered to a 2nd hand book store (if they’ll take it) and I will be moving on with my life.

Image result for moving on gif

Some of you may be thinking that I have been way too hard on this book, and you are probably right. The one thing I guess I can thank Twilight for is that it helped me discover which genre I like reading. Twilight got me back into reading for which I’m thankful.

matilda

Have you tried re-reading Twilight? Do you agree/disagree with the above? Let me know in the comments below.

Steff xx

24 thoughts on “Twilight: A Re-read

  1. I’ve been wanting to re read Twilight for years just to see what I would think of it now and I have a feeling I’ll end up DNFing it like you did so I haven’t touched it XD Gosh can you imagine reading the second or third book I swear Edward got creepier in those ones from what I can remember. Great re read review 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Omg Edward totally did get creepier hey!! And he really was just the worst boyfriend, when he knew Bella had a psycho vamp after her and he just leaves her to her own devices. I would have totally kicked him to the curb just based on that!! Lol yeah I don’t really recommend re-reading unless you want to waste your time haha. Thanks for reading!!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Haha! This is too funny, girl! You knocked it out of the park with this post. I love it! I agree with all of your points. Bella is the worst character. She has no depth and nothing about her makes you care what happens. The same goes for the other characters. I felt bad for her dad when I read these books. She treats him like crap when he doesn’t deserve it. She’s also a horrible friend. I really didn’t like her at all. I tried to do a re-read when I first started my blog just for the hell of it. I think I made it a few pages. The sentence structure was killing me. I just couldn’t do. There was too much blushing and awkwardness.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yep Bella is just the worst!!! Like, you think of all the things you don’t like in a character, and she pretty much sums it up. Lol there must be so many of us now that have tried re-reading this book hey. Thanks for reading 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. This post is amazing, Steff.

    It can be so weird to return to an old, beloved book and realize that it’s actually AWFUL. The first time it happened for me was with Tanya Huff’s “Wizard of the Grove,” ten or eleven years ago—and my devastation was so intense that (obviously) it’s burned into my memory.

    I completely agree with all your assessments in this post. Twilight’s a mess. But hey, at least the reread resulted in a great post! That’s something. =)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! It really is weird returning to books you used to love hey. I think as you get older your taste develops, so stuff that seemed soooo good when you were younger are just plain awful now. Haha, and it’s bad when it devastates you too, you start questioning “who am I?” haha. When I was little, I LOVED the Last Action Hero with Arnold Schwarzenegger in it…I was OBSESSED with it. And I watched it a couple of years ago and it is the WORST movie…EVER!!! And I was sooooo sad!!!! I will probably keep doing some re-reads, it does come up with some funny results lol. Thanks for reading, I’m glad you enjoyed it!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. The self-questioning is so real. Hopefully you don’t have to experience this kind of sadness too often during your rereads, though; I’ll keep my fingers crossed that most things are even better than you remember them!

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Actually I tried reading the first book of Twilight series 5 years back when I was 14. And to tell you I never liked novels at that time so reading that novel at that time was a hilarious event for me because I could not complete even half of it. So I settled onto movies and after watching it for first time you can say I was fascinated but now they are just watched for as a comedy source by me and my friends. It’s truth. And now we criticise it every time we see it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha I’m the same with the movies! I actually put Twilight on when I can’t sleep and it works every time lol. I always get up to the cafeteria scene, I haven’t watched the movie in full for years!

      Like

  5. The movie is okay 👌 I guess. I mean my mom would put it on when she couldn’t sleep either. I just started watching the series again

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

