What really grinds my gears in books

Happy Friday my lovely book friends!

Today, I thought I would give you my top 5 list of things that really grind my gears in books.

Image result for what grinds my gears

Insta-love

I have massive issues with insta-love. I am more of a *sloooow burn* kinda person. But also, insta-love isn’t realistic. I know fantasy/sci-fi books are generally not supposed to be realistic, but I think I will always have an issue with 2 people falling in love from one glance. It seems so shallow, because if they have fallen in love at first sight – without even talking to each other, I would be guessing that it is more based on looks. It took Han and Leia aaaages to admit their feelings for each other and there was so much tension between them. I LOVE THAT!!! Not “A dark-eyed man with a gorgeous face walked in the room, my heart skipped a beat”. Why? Why did your heart skip a beat? No. Just. No.

I actually  had this issue when reading “The Jewel” by Amy Ewing. I found the “romance” waaaay to instant and it actually turned me off finishing the book.

the-jewel

Over-descriptiveness

It is sooooooo easy to get lost in descriptions, and even easier to get very bored. This is something that I always struggled with when reading Australian Author Bryce Courteney’s books. His writing is brilliant, however sometimes you could get lost 2-3 pages of description about what a person is wearing. To be honest, I don’t care what people are wearing because I will make something up in my head anyway. We don’t need to hear about how such-and-such is wearing a purple cashmere sweater on top of a white silk blouse, matched with black suede pants and patent leather shoes. I am generally just happy to know that the character is actually dressed and not walking around naked (unless that is the theme the author is going for…).

jessica

Miserable attitude of the main character

This is a bit of a difficult one, because some characters have a miserable or negative attitude for a reason. There is usually some redeeming quality in their personality however, or a lesson they learn that generally improves the characters attitude. However when you have a character, take for instance a certain female character in a sparkly vampire book, who is this privileged person with the absolutely worst-negative-miserable attitude, it really makes for difficult reading. And it’s even worse when that attitude stays throughout the whole.freakin.series.

Image result for twilight book cover

The word “gotten”

I abso-freakin-lutely HATE this word. I hate it, I hate it, I hate it! There are so many other WONDERFUL words that can be used instead of this horrible word.

EXAMPLE:gotten.png

Damsels-in-distress

Don’t get me wrong, I love a little bit of damsel-in-distress. But I don’t like it repetitively. If it happens once and the male swoops in and saves the female from the big baddy, then I generally love it. But when you read a book like ACOTAR, where Feyre has to be saved repeatedly, it gets old and very annoying. I think that is one of the reasons why so many people preferred the second book to the first. No-one wants to read about someone who out-right refuses to help/save themselves repeatedly. We need character growth!!!

acotar

So what do you think of this list? Do you agree/disagree with the above? Is there something that isn’t on the list which grinds your gears when reading books? If so, let me know in the comments below!

Steff xx

 

5 comments

  1. Somehow you made me start hating the word “gotten” too now! Gosh, it sounds so horrible now! 😛

    – Lashaan

    Liked by 1 person

    • littlebookynook · January 20

      Hahaha! I’m so sorry about that lol. The key is to skimming over it in books and pretend you never saw it haha 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. JJAzar · January 21

    A main character with a miserable attitude provides for a miserable experience. Great points here!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. nairama · March 15

    so much yesss! i’d like to add the “special little snowflake” characters too, who can do absolutely everything, are usually teen and female, and have absolutely no reason to be “so awesome” other than being the protagonist 😛

    Liked by 1 person

    • littlebookynook · March 15

      Yes!!! I hate that hey, they are perfect and can’t do anything wrong. This makes me think of Clary from the Mortal Instruments, or Bella from Twilight. Thanks for reading 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

