My Year in Review – Life & Books

Happy Wednesday lovely people!!

So this is going to be my last blog post of 2016 because I’m off to America tomorrow, woot!! I thought I would therefore make my last post for the year, a review of my year. It definitely had it’s ups and downs, still working on my mental health and trying to find new methods of living with it…I think I will always be searching, not for a “cure” but living hand-in-hand with anxiety rather than letting it dictate.

My year started off with me adding a new addition to my family (which already includes 2 beagles, 2 cats and a turtle). PEANUT!!!

peanut

I had my Disney themed 30th where I dressed up as Belle. And this wasn’t one of those parties where only a few people dressed up…EVERYONE dressed up. It was pretty freakin amazing.

Image may contain: 1 person, indoor

 

<—- That’s me πŸ™‚

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

My book collection kept growing, getting me closer to actually being a real-life Belle with a real library…with a ladder of course!

Bookshelf.jpg

My beautiful kitty Bluey had to have a certain appendage amputated…he was sick for a while but he is all good now πŸ™‚

Bluey.jpg

And here are some of my FAVOURITE books that I read this year:

illuminae

 

This book….arrghh it was soooooo freakin good! I will forever be mentioning it in my blog posts now. Gemina was good…but Illuminae was the BEST!

 

 

 

 

 

 

acomaf

 

Forget A Court of Thorns and Roses, this book is amazing!!! I will re-read this a gazillion times over the course of my life. If you haven’t read this book yet because of ACOTAR, you need to read it because it will change your mind about the series!!

 

 

 

 

 

nevernight-jay-kristoff

 

How could I not include this wonderful book in my favourites category. Strong female character with blood, gore and swearing…I LOVE IT!!!

 

 

 

 

 

 

bone-season

 

Another book with an amazing strong female character. I can’t wait for the third book to come out, this is an awesome series!!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

an-ember-in-the-ashes

 

Love, love, love this book…SO MUCH!!! This is another book that I am going to continue re-reading.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

a-torch-against-the-night

 

The sequel to An Ember in the Ashes, DID NOT disappoint! Though I have to say that I loved the first book more, but I guess that’s usually the way of it.

 

 

 

 

 

 

wot

 

I have to say that this is my favourite out of the WoT series, just because it’s the first book and I was introduced to a whole new world and magic system.

 

 

 

 

 

 

eos

 

Words cannot express how much I freakin love this series. I love Aelin, soooooooo much!!! These books changed my life, like the Harry Potter books. When I think of amazing, strong female characters, Aelin will always wins.

 

 

 

 

 

Image result for burial rites

This book was so amazingly good. The writing was beautiful, the scenery and the story were brutal but beautiful at the same time. Hannah Kent is a wonderful writer, and I highly recommend this book to anyone who wants to read a stand-alone novel.

 

 

 

 

 

Image result for corrupt me

Of course I had to add Jill from rant and rave about books in my favourites collection. I read the ARC recently and it is freakin awesome. It’s a lot different to the other books on this list, and that says something…that Jill is an awesome writer!! I will be post some stuff on my blog in the new year in relation to this book, so keep your eyes peeled πŸ™‚

 

 

 

 

Anyways, that’s it for my year in review though it isn’t entirely finished yet. I created my blog in September and since then I have met some wonderful people in the book blogging community. Thank you to everyone who is following me through my blog and facebook, your support is appreciated.

I hope you all have an absolutely wonderful Christmas/holidays, and I will see you all again in 2017!!!

Steff xx

14 comments

  1. Megan @ bookslayerReads · December 14

    Have fun here in the US!!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Darnell · December 14

    Awesome list of books. I loved Illuminae and An Ember in the Ashes/ A Torch Against the Night. I wish you the happiest of holidays. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Welcome to the US! Which part are you visiting if you don’t mind me asking? Oh! And Peanut is too cute!πŸ’πŸ»

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Vicki · December 14

    Love reading your blog. Love sharing your page & getting others to read it.
    Safe travels my lovely

    Liked by 1 person

  5. rantandraveaboutbooks · December 14

    Aww, Steff! πŸ’• Let me tell you how excited I am to see my book on your list for the year. ❀️ Thank you! πŸ™‚ I’m so glad you loved the book. You’re coming to the US and not to Florida! 😩 You’ll be in all the cold weather climates. πŸ˜‚ It’s nice and hot down here in Florida. Like way too hot for this time of year. Enjoy your trip and have a safe flight. πŸ™‚ And Happy Holidays if I don’t talk to you until you get back.

    Liked by 1 person

    • littlebookynook · December 14

      It definitely deserved the spot Jill, I’ll be purchasing hard copies thats for sure!! Lol yeah a bit crazy I know…I actually have no idea what to expect with the cold weather because its really hot here in Brisbane and our “cold weather” is like, 53 degrees farenheit…which compared to the -5.3 degrees Im going to….its gunna be a shock!! Thank you so much lovely, Happy Holidays to you too πŸ’•πŸ’•

      Liked by 1 person

      • rantandraveaboutbooks · December 15

        Aww, thanks, Steff! 😘 The paperback came out so good. That’s the kind of weather we have here in Florida. Too bad you won’t be close enough to me. I totally would’ve met up with you while you’re here. Have an awesome trip! πŸ™‚ Oh, btw I love the Belle costume. I forgot to mention that in my last comment. I’ve never seen one in adult size. Your party sounds like it was awesome. I would’ve loved it. πŸ™‚

        Like

  6. dreamingthroughliterature · December 15

    Oh how fun! Have a wonderful Holiday!

    Like

Leave a Reply

