The Candy Book Tag

Happy Monday lovely people!

Jess @ the Awkward Book Blogger recently did this tag, and I decided that I want to do it to because I looooooove sweets. FYI – in Australia we call candy, lollies. I don’t know where lollies originated from…lollipops?

************************************************************************

Apple | Ah. Healthy food. It is deep, meaningful, and probably won a lot of awards but, um, it really isn’t your thing.

Image result for the fault in our stars

Sorry to all the peeps out here who loved this book, but I did.not. I thought it was super depressing, made me question why people get given such sh!tty hands…and I really don’t like books like that. I get enough of that out of real life thank-you!

Milk Chocolate | This is a book you’d recommend to absolutely everyone.

illuminae

This book is freakin a-mazing!!! I was really scared of reading it because of the format, I thought it would be really difficult to read. But it really wasn’t, and this book really, really gets your heart pumping!!!

Black Jellybeans | Why do these exist?

Image result for mills and boon

Possibly an unpopular opinion, but I really dislike books where there is a cover model…It is the best way for me to be turned off from picking up a book. In saying that, some books with cover models aren’t too bad. It’s more the Mills & Boon-ish types of covers that I dislike, where there is a blonde haired girl with blue eyes, looking off into the distance.

Chocolate Kisses | Aww this novel had the best romance.

Image result for pride and prejudice

acomaf

I really needed to add both of these books into this category. Pride and Prejudice was a definite, because it is a slow burn, classic dislike turned to love kind of story. And ACOMAF needed to be added because, OMG how could you not include Rhys and Feyre?!?!

Gummy Spiders| Eek! You made sure to check under your bed every night for a week after reading this scary one.

Honestly, I have never read a terribly scary book. But even thinking about possibly reading ‘It’ gives me the heebie jeebies. I was going to put a picture up, but decided against it because I freakin hate clowns.

Jumbo Lollipop | This took your forever to get through, but hey! You did it!

Image result for the hobbit book

This book doesn’t even have a lot of pages, but it took me about a month to read. And that is a long time, especially when I can generally read a book in 2-3 days. I just find Tolkien’s writing hard to follow, always have and probably always will.

Cotton Candy | Admit it, you loved this when you were younger (you probably still do).

Image result for the wizard of oz book

This one will forever be a favourite. When I was little I was absolutely OBSESSED with the Wizard of Oz, and used to make people call me Dorothy…true story!!

************************************************************************

Tag…

I don’t think my tags work, I’m probably not doing them right. So if you want to do this tag, feel free 🙂

************************************************************************

Clean Template (for your copying + pasting convenience)

Apple | Ah. Healthy food. It is deep, meaningful, and probably won a lot of awards but, um, it really isn’t your thing.

Milk Chocolate | This is a book you’d recommend to absolutely everyone.

Black Jellybeans | Why do these exist?

Chocolate Kisses | Aww this novel had the best romance.

Gummy Spiders| Eek! You made sure to check under your bed every night for a week after reading this scary one.

Jumbo Lollipop | This took your forever to get through, but hey! You did it!

Cotton Candy | Admit it, you loved this when you were younger (you probably still do).

************************************************************************

Have a wonderful week everyone!!

Steff xx

 

11 comments

  1. JJAzar · December 12

    Cover models bug me as well! They’re not always done poorly, but more often than not, they come across as tacky. And I don’t know if reading Tolkien at a normal pace is possible. Short as the Hobbit was, and as much as I liked it, it takes energy and willpower to get through. I’d put Lord of the Rings books in the same basket, too. Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

    • littlebookynook · December 12

      Yeah I definitely think tacky is a good word for it! I have tried reading LOTR soooooo many times, and am never ever successful. It is my Mt Everest lol. Thanks!!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. gettingthroughanxiety · December 12

    Cool tag! Might have to do this one tomorrow! Thanks for following my blog!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. avathenerd · December 12

    Great post! My answer to the Apple question was same as yours! Yay!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. sophiethestark · December 14

    I totally agree with you on book covers with models… It just gives off such a tacky vibe! And the books can actually be quite good but I won’t know, because I simply ignore them :/

    Great post! I’ve been tagged too so I’ll be doing it soon 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • littlebookynook · December 14

      I’m glad I’m not the only one who feels that way! Thank you so much for reading 🙂 You definitely should do this tag, it’s pretty fun 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: The Black Cat Blue Sea Award – Bookshelves and Biros
  6. Pingback: How To Train Your Dragon Book Tag | meltingpotsandothercalamities

Leave a Reply

