Favourites Friday | Female Characters!

Guess what everyone?!? It’s Friday, which means…Favourites Friday!

So, I don’t know if it’s my inner feminist, but I absolutely LOVE strong female characters. Unfortunately, since cavemen days, women have been seen as inferior to men. We have been called the weaker sex, the fairer sex. In movies and books, the man always swoops in to save the princess – because she definitely can’t save herself, she’s too fragile.

Remember Buttercup from the Princess Bride? I remember Westley is getting his ass handed to him by a pig or something like that, and she just stands there screaming! I’m not sure but I think the Princess Bride was satire or something along those lines, so I think Buttercup was supposed to be a damsel in distress…but even so, you get my point.

I feel like females are being represented a lot more favourably in stories these days, meaning that we are going to have new generations of girls looking up to these characters which I think is so awesome.

Here is my list of my favourite strong female characters, in no particular order because I think they are all awesome!

Katniss Everdeen – The Hunger Games Series

I don’t think Katniss is one of the nicest of people, however the fact that she has flaws is what I like about her. She isn’t Miss Universe, with a Vaseline smile and wave, sprouting “world peace” rubbish. She is angry, bitter and has the weight of thousands of lives on her shoulder. She was always a strong person, with her family relying on her for food etc. All I know is if I was in this situation, I’d probably starve because I’d feel soooooo bad bad about killing animals. I would be bawling…and that’s the truth of it.

Image result for katniss everdeen gif

Aelin Galythinius – Throne of Glass Series

I have spoken about Aelin soooo many times, because I LOVE her. She is amazing. She is so unbelievably loyal to her friends, family and kingdom and would literally do anything for them. She hasn’t had a splendid life but she takes it all in her stride and cuts down anything (or anyone) she doesn’t like. Aelin has swagger, she is full of herself and doesn’t apologise for who she is. I.LOVE.HER!!!

Image result for aelin gif

Claire Fraser – Outlander

Thrown into an impossible and unbelievable situation, Claire thinks everything through rationally (well most of the time) and logically. She is very knowledgeable of medicines and herbs, and also knows a lot about treating injuries due to her time as a nurse in the War. Claire does some silly things and I have wanted to slap her a few times, but she still is an incredibly strong, independent woman.

Image result for Claire fraser gif

Kady Grant – Illuminae

A new contender on my list. I read Illuminae a week or so ago, and was introduced to Kady. She is definitely a different type of hero. She is very smart, can work computers like a wizard and is super gutsy. She was under an enormous amount of pressure and she was as cool as a cucumber…she’s pretty awesome.

Image result for nerdy computer girl gif

Nynaeve al’Meara – Wheel of Time Series

Early on in the series I found her a bit annoying, mostly because she is the most stubborn, crankiest female character I have come across. However, I freakin love her! She sticks to what she thinks is right and tells people how it is. She is also pretty powerful and has fought some pretty powerful beings. Nynaeve is super feisty but is also incredibly loyal, and this is why she has made my list.

Image result for cranky girl gif

Laia – An Ember in the Ashes Series

I fell in love with Laia in An Ember in the Ashes. You start off thinking of her as a coward, and I guess you could say that she is but not really through any fault of her own. She owns her mistakes and learns from them. She is like a fox, super quiet and timid, however she could steal the eggs out of your chicken coop without you noticing. I love that she isn’t this boisterous, over the top “look at me”, full of swagger girl. Again, she is someone who is super loyal and knows where she comes from. She is definitely someone you would want to be friends with, because if you got kidnapped by an evil prince, she would do everything in her power to get you back.

Image result for sneaky girl gif

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

So there you have it, my favourite strong female characters. Are any of these on your list? What your favourite female characters? Let me know in the comments section below 🙂

Steff xx

 

17 comments

  1. JJAzar · December 9

    As I was scrolling through, I was planning to mention Nynaeve al’Meara once I reached the comment box, but you beat me to the punch! What a character! She’s stubborn as a mule, yes, but she is so powerful. Seeing her work through some of her personal issues has proven a pleasure. Great to see some WoT love! Your other choices are great as well (those that I recognize). Thank you for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

    • littlebookynook · December 9

      I have seen a lot of hate towards Nynaeve (online) and she definitely doesn’t deserve it. I think she is just misunderstood. She really cares so much, she just lets her temper get in the way. Thanks so much for reading 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • JJAzar · December 10

        It’s my pleasure!
        And it’s an interesting dynamic, between Nynaeve and I. By Book 5, she had become my least favorite character (every time Jordan wrote in her POV, it was ALL COMPLAINING) but she did a 180 in Book 6. Very cool for that to have happened. Now she’s my #1!

        Liked by 1 person

      • littlebookynook · December 10

        I completely agree! I think she just starts to learn a bit more humility, which is good otherwise she’d still be annoying lol.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. JESS @PT CONTENDER · December 9

    Hermione Granger! Not afraid to be smart, and loves her family and friends so much! She sticks up for herself & works hard too :)) love katniss too!

    Liked by 1 person

    • littlebookynook · December 9

      Omg I can’t believe I forgot her!!! Yes, definitely is an amazing female character and one that little girls can look up to. Thanks so much for reading 😊

      Liked by 1 person

      • Agent of Chaos · December 10

        I just wanted to write a comment about Hermione Granger missing from your list, but apparently someone was faster 😉 Apart from that, great list! I also loved Kady Grant from Illuminae, she’s definitely one of my favourite characters.

        Liked by 1 person

      • littlebookynook · December 10

        Lol yeah I still can’t believe I forgot her, I’m the worst HP fan!! Thanks for reading 😊

        Like

  3. Sue - doddyaboutbooks · December 9

    Great post! Granny Weatherwax from the Discworld series. Mia from Nevernight by Jay Kristoff.

    Liked by 1 person

    • littlebookynook · December 9

      Ive only just started the Discworld series so I haven’t met Granny yet, but yes to Mia!! I can’t believe I forgot her too 😯

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Lesley · December 9

    My favourite female character is Kay Scarpetta from the Scarpetta series by Patricia Cornwall. I know that’s really outdated. I don’t read fantasy books so my pick is pretty boring.

    Liked by 1 person

    • littlebookynook · December 9

      Nothing wrong with your choice at all! Doesn’t have to be fantasy to be good 😊

      Like

  5. Sarah (@whispering747) · December 11

    Oooh, some great choices. I also like Lyra from Phillip Pullman’s dark materials series 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • littlebookynook · December 11

      Thanks 😊 Ooh I haven’t read that series yet! Its definitely on my TBR list 😊

      Like

  6. Hilary · December 12

    That gif of Katniss is perfect!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Pingback: The Candy Book Tag – fed745

Leave a Reply

