Surviving Christmas 101 – Reading time

It’s December, meaning Christmas! And whilst this is soooo exciting, if you are a book-loving introvert like me, you are probably also freaking out thinking “OMG when am I going to get reading time?”. Well you know what friends, it’s all going to be A-OK because I have done up a list of how you are going to get in your reading time…and possibly avoid people when you are bit overwhelmed from all the face-to-face interactions going on.

Image result for christmas vacation quotes

1. Public Transport

This is an easy one guys. This is the BEST way to get in some reading time. It doesn’t matter if it is only a 5min ride, make sure you have your book or reading device with you. 5mins could equal 5 important pages in your book!!

shades

2. In the car

Not while you’re driving…though I’m sure people have tried this. If you are a passenger and you are with company who don’t mind you either sleeping or reading, then take advantage of the opportunity! As long as you don’t mind reading while the other occupants are singing to Brittney really loudly and badly, you’ll do fine kid!

Image result for i'm ignoring you gif

3. Pretend you are going for a shower

This one is fine, as long as you don’t get caught…otherwise you could get into a bit of trouble. Say you are going for a shower, but then you can just sit in the bathroom and read for a little while. If someone knocks on the door, say you’re busy. If there isn’t a lock on the bathroom door, sit in front of it so someone can’t just barge in.

Image result for hiding gif

4. The toilet

This one is obviously up to you and whether you are super worried about toilet germs. I’ve been to houses where there is just a novel sitting on the ground…a toilet novel! Anyways, this is an option if you really just aren’t getting any reading time in. And you could probably sit in there for a good hour…people are going to be too embarrassed to ask why you are taking so long!

Image result for hiding gif

5. Audiobook

Of course! If you are driving somewhere, or walking somewhere, don’t listen to music…audiobook it up! I’m not a massive audiobook fan, however if I was desperate this is definitely something that I would do.

Image result for driving gif

6. I think I have a cold….

Ok so this one is super anti-social, but if you are starting to get super overwhelmed around all the festivities and you think you just need some time to yourself…this might be a good one. That way you can chill, read a book and re-charge.

Image result for sickie gif

Ok so there are 6 different options for you. In no way am I condoning being anti-social over Christmas, you need to make sure you are at least getting out of the house and getting a little bit involved – for your own mental health if anything! But I am someone who gets super overwhelmed after being around people for a long time, and I need time to recharge….that’s where these options come in.

Do you have any other ideas to add to this list? Let me know, down below 🙂

Steff xx

6 thoughts on “Surviving Christmas 101 – Reading time

  1. These are all my tatics all year round XD Although I only read in the car if I’m in the backseat when I have shotgun I take my music and snack duties seriously bahahaha

    Great list! I’ll def being doing nearly all of these on the holidays

    Liked by 1 person

      1. hahaha I’m more of a spice girl singalong girl myself but I can work with Brittney XD bahahaha Reading on public transport is the main reason I read as much as I do, when you have an hour ride to work what else is there to do!?

        Liked by 1 person

  2. If you’re spending time with family and they’re all in front of the TV watching hockey (which happens quite often in my home and native land), I’ve found that reading a book is seen as completely acceptable behaviour (even though I’m equally disengaged from everyone else as when I’m browsing through my phone).
    Also: Going to bed early! Say you’re tired, you’re headed up to bed, and then READ IN YOUR BED. No lying, you really are tired (of socializing with everybody), and you really are in bed. You just need some reading time to wind down!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey they are some really good ideas! I hadn’t even thought of the going to bed early one! I find it good reading a book while everyone is watching a game because you are still kind of “involved”. The other day my husband was watching NFL, which went for ages and it was a boring game, so I read to my hearts content lol. Thank you so much for commenting!!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

