Standalone Sunday | Black Ice by Becca Fitzpatrick

standalone-sunday

Another weekend comes to a close which is always sad, but on the happy side it means Standalone Sunday…w00t! Hosted by Megan @ bookslayerReads , we get to highlight the standalone books out there. By the way, make sure you check out Megan’s blog – it’s pretty and bright with lots of awesome posts 🙂

Today, I am talking about:

Black Ice by Becca Fitzpatrick

black-ice

Hot. Cold. Deadly.

Britt Pfeiffer has never been very adventurous, but that’s about to change. Wanting to impress her ex-boyfriend, Britt convinces her best friend, Korbie, to take a hiking trip with her. But when a freak storm leaves the girls stranded, they seek shelter in a secluded cabin – where they find two handsome rescuers. Or so they think.

Britt realises she and Korbie need to get off the mountain fast, and so begins a treacherous journey through the ice and snow. But is gorgeous, mysterious Mason an enemy – or an ally?

Tension mount, and it’s only a matter of time before things turn deadly…

I read this book after reading the Hush, Hush series. Whilst Hush, Hush definitely had some issues, I really liked Becca’s writing. This book did not disappoint.

When I first started reading Black Ice, the main character Britt disappointed me a bit because she was blonde, preppy and spoilt, none of which I can relate to. However you soon find out that while she has lead a rather privileged life, she can actually stand on her own two feet. Britt manages to think logically even when on the brink of death, which is definitely admirable. If a bear tried to attack me, I honest think I would a) pee my pants, b) scream and c) run away, arms flailing.

If you have read the Hush, Hush series, I dare you to not see Mason as Patch…I tried and it was really hard. He had all the same features, only difference is that when things were happening Mason didn’t disappear like our dear Patch (sorry guys, Patch probably did have some really important stuff to do, but I still find it funny that he managed to disappear at the really important moments when he was actually needed…anyways, I digress). The fact that you have NO idea if Mason is good or bad, keeps you turning the pages just in itself. There definitely is that bad guy thing happening, and to be honest you would love him either way.

I highly recommend this book to anyone really, as it has all those things you love about a story – mystery, intrigue, romance and Macgyver like skills put to use. I have re-read this story quite a few times because I freakin’ love it!

Have you read Black Ice? If you have what did you think of it? If not, are you going to add this one to your ever-growing TBR list? Let me know 🙂

Steff xx

4 comments

  1. Pingback: Standalone Sunday :: 12/04/16 | :: bookslayerReads ::
  2. Megan @ bookslayerReads · December 5

    I haven’t read this book or the Hush Hush series (although I’ve always wanted to!) Maybe I’ll try this one first since it’s not part of a series. Or would you recommend Hush Hush first?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

