Standalone Sunday #3 | Jane Eyre

Today is Monday, so I am a little late with my Standalone Sunday post…but better late than never right?!?! Standalone Sunday is hosted by Megan @ bookslayerReads , and it gives us the opportunity to talk about the standalone books out there that don’t always get the recognition they deserve. Yes, Jane Eyre is well known, however I feel that there are soooooo many people out there who haven’t read this wonderful book yet. And that is why I felt that Jane Eyre is deserving of this weeks post.

Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte

Image result for jane eyre

Orphaned into the household of her Aunt Reed at Gateshead and subject to the cruel regime at Lowood charity school, Jane Eyre nonetheless emerges unbroken in spirit and integrity. She takes up the post of governess at Thornfield, falls in love with Mr. Rochester, and discovers the impediment to their lawful marriage in a story that transcends melodrama to portray a woman’s passionate search for a wider and richer life than Victorian society traditionally allowed.

With a heroine full of yearning, the dangerous secrets she encounters, and the choices she finally makes, Charlotte Bronte’s innovative and enduring romantic novel continues to engage and provoke readers.

I absolutely love this book, and I always give it a massive HUG once I finish it. Jane is someone you would want your daughter to look up to. She is independent, smart and logical, and doesn’t let a man define her worth. She is also incredibly loyal to the few people in her life who have shown her kindness.

Image result for jane eyre quotes

The other thing I love about this book is Mr Rochester. He isn’t your typical “6 feet tall with chiselled abs, his face angles and planes with dark smouldering eyes”. He is actually described to be somewhat unattractive, however he makes up for it with his witty personality. He is very flawed and is never made out to be perfect. WE NEED MORE MALE CHARACTERS LIKE THIS!!! I mean, I love Will Herondale, Rowan and Rhysand…don’t get me wrong…but I think sometimes its good to read male characters that give us girls realistic expectations in men. Mr Rochester is definitely more of a realistic depiction of the opposite sex, and is also probably what makes him so endearing.

Image result for mr rochester quotes

If you haven’t read this book, I implore you to do so immediately. Yes, the older style of writing can sometimes be a bit difficult at the start but once you get used to it you don’t notice it anymore.

Steff xx

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Have you read Jane Eyre? If you have, what did you think of it?

11 comments

  1. Megan @ bookslayerReads · November 28

    I am ashamed to admit that I haven’t read Jane Eyre! Terrible, I know. I’ve always wanted to, but I’m a little scared of classics. The writing and speech being so different and all. But I will definitely read it one day!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. rantandraveaboutbooks · November 28

    Good choice! This is an amazing book! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Transhaan · November 28

    I can’t wait to read this book. I actually want to read it cause of a mystery novel that is inspired off of ideas from Jane Eyre called Jane Steele. Being able to catch all the references would make my reading a lot more enjoyable, you know? 😀 Great pick for the meme!

    – Lashaan

    Liked by 1 person

    • littlebookynook · November 28

      I know exactly what you mean!! I read Jane Eyre because it was referenced alot in a book I was reading. I love book rec’s that come from other books, it makes the reading experience that extra special 😊😊 Thanks lovely 💚💛💜

      Liked by 1 person

  4. the bohemian bookworm · November 29

    I’ve had this on my TBR forever!! Along with a lot of other classic romances… My all time favorite is Pride and Prejudice. Thanks for the great pick!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. missdarcy87 · December 2

    This is one of my favorite classic books!

    Like

Leave a Reply

