A Re-Read: A Court of Mist & Fury

I recently decided that I wanted to read ACOMAF again, so I set aside a whole day with the hope that I would read the 643 pages in that one day. Unfortunately, I only got to 500…I was hoping to set myself a new record. Now that I have had the chance to process this delightful book properly, I will give you an account of my re-read (which ended up taking 3 days *sad face*).

acomaf

1. I strongly *dislike* Tamlin

I never liked him in ACOTAR, so this isn’t a massive shift. Like, he lets the supposed love of his life get the absolute crap beaten out of her, and just sits there crying (on the inside I guess, because he doesn’t show any outward expression). He is possessive, controlling and thinks he knows best, when he doesn’t know anything. I don’t like him. At all.

dislike.gif

2. Feyre is waaaay more likeable

I don’t know what it is that makes her more likeable…maybe the fact that in this book she starts to stand on her own two feet. She starts as a broken shell but throughout the book really comes into her own. By the end of the book, I loved her. Not as much as Aelin (is that even possible ?!?!?!) but, it is up there.

love-you

3. Rhysand and his motley crue

Aaaargh they are all so loveable, I just want to give them all big teddy bear hugs!!! This squad is more enviable than Taylor Swifts…except rather than stick thin models, this lot can kick some SERIOUS butts! Rhysand is freakin perfect…like…arrrrgh!!

squad

4. Feminism for the win!!

I can’t explain how wonderful it is for SJ Maas to have written a male character who is pretty much a feminist. Such a shift from a lot of YA books where the guy is constantly saving the girl, because he thinks the girl is too delicate to do it for herself. Rhysand leaves a lot of the big decisions to the women in his life because he loves and respects them. I just love it sooooooo much!!!! Will Rhysand start burning bra’s? I guess we will have to wait and see with the next book.

feminism

5. Ships

Love, love, love, love! As much as I’m not a fan on everyone coupling up, everyone just goes so well together in this book that I don’t even mind. I won’t go too much into this one because I don’t want to spoil anything. But yeah…love!!!

ships.gif

6. Climax

I guess this could apply to a couple of things, one just a bit too rude to go into. But the ending…Omg!! I need to know what’s going to happen, and I can’t believe poor little me has to wait until MAY 2017 for the endgame. There are some things that SJ Maas has confirmed, which has put my heart at ease…but still!!!

endgame

In summary, I actually really love this book. I love the characters, I love the story, I love the cover. I want to re-read it again, but will wait for a little bit…I have other stories to re-read!!!

wonderful

Have you read ACOMAF?? If you have what did you think? If you haven’t, do you want to read it? Let me know what you think below 🙂

Steff xx

11 comments

  1. Adoptabookaus · November 24, 2016

    I read it and then re-read it right away because it just blew me away, I liked Feyre a lot more in ACOMAF then I did ACOTAR because she was doing things for her and taking back some control over her life. Can’t wait for the third book 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • littlebookynook · November 24, 2016

      I’m glad I’m not the only one who felt that way with Feyre! I bet we are all going to be re-reading ACOMAF in April next year lol!!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Adoptabookaus · November 24, 2016

        Definitely be re-reading it 😀 Not re-reading ACOTAR this time though there’s no way I can deal with the past Tamlin and Feyre :’D

        Liked by 1 person

      • littlebookynook · November 24, 2016

        Same here lol!! Tamlin is dead to me haha!!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Girl Who Reads · November 24, 2016

    I haven’t read it, but I REALLY want to! I read ACOTAR this month and haven’t yet had the chance to get ACOMAF!! 😦 😦

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Megan @ bookslayerReads · November 25, 2016

    I haven’t read this series yet, although I do plan to eventually. I’ve heard so many great things about this series, especially about ACOMAF.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Jasmine · December 5

    I’m glad this book is a re-read! I need to get started on this series 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    • littlebookynook · December 5

      I highly recommend it, just bear with ACOTAR..it had mixed reviews. But ACOMAF is pretty amazing 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

