Book Rant: Nevernight by Jay Kristoff

Well hello there fellow book readers! Today I am going to have a rant (all good things, all good things) about

NEVERNIGHT by Jay Kristoff.

nevernight-jay-kristoff

Destined to destroy empires, Mia Corvere is only ten years old when she is given her first lesson in death.

Six years later, the child raised in the shadows takes her first step towards keeping the promise she made on the day she lost everything.

But the chance to strike against such powerful enemies will be fleeting, so if she is to have her revenge, Mia must become a weapon without equal. She must prove herself against the deadliest of friends and enemies, and survive the tutelage of murderers, liars and daemons at the heart of a murder cult.

The Red Church is no ordinary school, but Mia is no ordinary student. They shadows love her. And they drink her fear.

 

I feel like I am jumping on a bandwagon here, but this book was quite simply, amazing. It had absolutely everything in it that I love: Fantasy, blood & gore, witty characters, romance, and a freakin amazing strong female character. Mia Corvere is now up there with Aelin (Throne of Glass series). She isn’t a perfect little flower, she is flawed, rough around the edges and absolutely brutal. But underneath her there is a softness, especially when it comes to the people she loves.

“If her face were a puzzle, most would put it back in the box, unfinished. Moreover,”

You also come to love Mr Kindly, the not-cat who is made of shadows, who is Mia’s constant companion. I want my own Mr Kindly!!! I have three cats, but they are lazy, are addicted to eating and sleeping, and they wouldn’t give me very good advice…I also feel that they judge me a lot. There are a few really good characters as well, such as Mia’s friends Tric, Ashlinn and Naev, who she meets while training to become an Assassin.

“…bravo…’ Mister Kindly said,’..if only I had hands to applaud..’
Mia smacked her backside. ‘I’d settle for lips to kiss my sweet behind.
‘…I would have to find it first…’
Arses are like fine wine, Mister Kindly. Better too little than too much.
‘ …a beauty and a philosopher. be still my beating heart…’ The not-cat looked down at its translucent chest ‘…O,wait…”  

The rollercoaster pretty much starts from page 1 and keeps going, with Jay’s writing descriptive, sometimes witty and entertaining. There are footnotes which I enjoyed however they distracted me from the main story. I would think that if you don’t want to read the footnotes you aren’t going to miss out on the story. The footnotes just provide extra information about certain things and they are quite funny, the start of the book is quite heavy with footnotes but they thin out towards the end of the book.

“You’ll be a rumor. A whisper. The thought that wakes the bastards of this world sweating in the nevernight. The last thing you will ever be, girl, is someone’s hero.”  

I absolutely can’t wait for the next book in the series, as the ending had a few reveals but more questions. I will be very, very interested to find out who is narrating the story…I have a few theories about a few things, so I can’t wait to find out whether I’m write or wrong.

Overall, I highly recommend this book if you love some blood and gore, swearing and revenge. Just a warning – this book IS NOT a YA book…due to quite a few of these factors. Read it, read it, read it!!!!

peter-pan

I hope your week is going well!

Steff xx

6 comments

  1. Transhaan · November 16, 2016

    I’M SO EXCITED FOR THIS BOOOK 😍😍Jay Kristoff u know never disappoints Gemina is my next read! – Trang

    Liked by 1 person

    • littlebookynook · November 16, 2016

      I picked up Illuminae the other day but didn’t buy it, is it pretty good?

      Like

      • Transhaan · November 16, 2016

        ITS AMAZINGGG. Its one of my favourtie book of all times! I did a review on that book on my blog once and fangirled about it 😂😂

        Liked by 1 person

      • littlebookynook · November 16, 2016

        Oooohhhhh well I’ll go get it tomorrow ☺

        Like

  2. rantandraveaboutbooks · November 17, 2016

    You had me fooled by your title. I was expecting a rant and was shocked because I love this book. Then I was pleasantly surprised to find that you loved it as much as I did. I’m really looking forward to the next book. It’s definitely not a YA appropriate book for sure. This was a glowing Rave review for me.

    Liked by 1 person

    • littlebookynook · November 17, 2016

      Thank you so much!! It’s always hard to find the words to express how much you love a book, and I thought that rather than doing a formal review, I would just rant about it for a while lol. Soooooo excited for the next book!!!!!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

