Standalone Sunday #1

Standalone Sunday is hosted by the lovely Megan @ bookslayerReads. I am a little late with my post today because I was in the NaNoWriMo ZONE yesterday. Decided that I wasn’t happy with my first story so started writing a new one, and wrote 6 chapters in 3 hours. ANYWAY I digress! Standalone Sunday is where we get to talk about some of the awesome standalones out there.

Today, I am going to have a rant about one of my FAVOURITE standalones.

Angel of Ruin (also known as “Fallen Angel”) – Kim Wilkins

angel-of-ruinFallen Angel.jpg

“Sophie needs to pay the rent and a story on the occult would sell around Hallowe’en time. The Lodge of the Seven Stars is good for research but Sophie’s a sceptic and doesn’t believe in any of the rituals. Until she meets The Wanderer who has a story to tell her”.

This book was recommended to me years ago by a friend who had spoken about how awesome Kim Wilkins is. For those who don’t know who she is, Kim Wilkins is an Australian author (from Brisbane!), with a lot of stories based around paranormal/horror. I have read quite a few of her books, however Angel of Ruin is by far my favourite.

I don’t want to give too much away, but Angel of Ruin is actually a story within a story. The main story-teller is Sophie, a sceptic…who soon learns that the things she thought untrue, are actually more true than she realised. Sophie is told a story by The Wanderer, about three sisters who’s lives are pretty much ripped apart by an Angel.

I have re-read this book, so, so, so many times. My book looks well loved now, which I love, because it shows how much I have read it. I highly recommend this book to anyone who loves a bit of paranormal/horror (I wouldn’t say this book is terribly scary, but then I guess it depends on what you find scary. I go to sleep with the Blair Witch Project on, so….). Kim Wilkins is an awesome Aussie author, and if you like this book then I highly recommend reading some of her other books too 🙂

Steff xx

2 comments

  1. Pingback: Standalone Sunday :: 11/13/16 | :: bookslayerReads ::
  2. Megan @ bookslayerReads · November 14

    Thanks so much for participating! This book sounds really good… very mysterious actually. Definitely adding it to my TBR! Thanks for the recommendation!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

