Farewell October

Well hiiiiii there everyone!! Where did October go?? So I didn’t read pretty much any of the books on my TBR list for October…I got side-tracked and ended up reading other books. Ah well!!! Anyway, here are some of the books I read this month – they were all awesome books so I highly recommend them.

**My 3 truths and a lie tag – sorry lovelies I am a MASSIVE Miley fan…I hate bees**

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Cinder – Marissa Meyer

cinder

Do you like fairy tales? Do you like fairy tale retellings? Well if you said yes to either or both of these questions, then you need to hop off your toadstool and get this book in your shiny little hands. The name of the main character is Cinder so you probably have a good idea what this re-telling is going to be about. This is the first book in the Lunar Chronicles series, and I have read rave reviews about the series as a whole.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

An Ember in the Ashes – Sabaa Tahir

an-ember-in-the-ashes

I freakin’ LOVED this book! I loved the main characters Elias and Laia, and I loved how the chapters alternated between their point of views. I was amazed at how brutal the bad guys are, there is no holding back in their evilness. I think the Commandent put Voldemort to shame to be honest, she is just a horrid piece of work. If you read a lot of YA you find that a lot of the stories follow along the same lines and can be quite predictable…not this series. I have absolutely NO IDEA where this series is going, and it makes me sooooooooo excited!!!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

A Torch Against the Night – Sabaa Tahir

a-torch-against-the-night

Yep, so when An Ember in the Ashes finished I couldn’t hold out, I had to go and get this one straight away. It follows straight on from where AEITA finished and we got the pleasure of a new POV from Helene. To say that Helene is an amazing character is an understatement. To watch her struggle with her heart and her duties is pretty amazing. I love the relationship between Elias and Laia – like the story as a whole their relationship is completely unpredictable and I have absolutely no idea what is going to happen there. But the respect they have for each other gives me ALOT of feels!!!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The Bone Season – Samantha Shannon

bone season.jpg

I picked this book up having absolutely no idea what it was about. All I knew was that it was fantasy, and I love fantasy. Firstly, I love the main character. I always love a strong female character who stands her ground and makes rational decisions, and doesn’t run off crying if someone hurts her feelings. I feel that women are getting a kinder portrayal these days…we have come a long way since Twilight where Bella pines over a boy and gives up identity and existence for some sparkles. This story is incredibly unique…I won’t even begin to explain it to you because it gets a bit complex. The only problemΒ I have with this series, is that apparently there are going to be 7 books…and so far there are only 2 *sad face*.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Currently reading….

The Mime Order – Samantha Shannon

the mime order.jpg

I have to admit that while I like this book it is taking me a little bit longer to get into. I want to know where a certain “W” is….this is why I like reading the ends of books first!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

How did you go with your TBR list this month? Let me know in the comments below πŸ™‚

Steff xx

9 comments

  1. Vicki · November 1

    I have been very slack at reading anything

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sheridan Fuller · November 3

    I’m almost finished “Queen of Shadows” by Sarah J. Maas. Sooooo good!
    Wish I had more time to read haha!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. teastainsonthebookpages · November 13

    You had a good reading month ! I’ve been eyeing The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon for so long now I really need to go out and get a copy ! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • littlebookynook · November 13

      You really need to read it, I had it sitting in my bookshelf for aaaaages and once I read it I couldn’t understand why it took me so long 😊😊

      Like

  4. teastainsonthebookpages · November 13

    That good then? πŸ˜€ It’s also going to what like 7 books long right? So I think it’s going be pretty epic, I should probably get on it before too many books come out aha πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

    • littlebookynook · November 14

      Lol yeah I found out after I read the first 2 that there are going to be 7, and I was like noooooo!!! So you still have another 5 years if you don’t want to read them straight away πŸ™‚

      Like

      • teastainsonthebookpages · November 15

        Yeah but I quite like to be up to date with book series like I get stressed when new books come out and I’m not caught up aha x)

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

