Books I (sadly) could not finish

frustrated-boromir

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

For every awesome book out there, every so often you will come across one that you absolutely, no matter how hard you try, cannot finish. It is a sad time for you, because if you are like me, you want to finish every single book you read. But then you will get to say, page 120, and you decide YOLO. Why continue with something you aren’t enjoying, when you could be using that time reading something you will actually enjoy.

So I have composed a list of books I was unable to get through. Some books I just genuinely didn’t like, some I found the writing a bit too hard to get into. Some of you will have read some of these books and be like “saaaayyy whaatt?”. But that’s ok, because we all have different tastes and different things we expect out of the books we read.

Red Queen – Victoria Aveyard

red-queen

I disliked this book a great deal. For one, I didn’t like the main character because I found her to be overly bitter and negative. This story felt super predictable, and I honestly felt like I had read the same story before. Not every book has to be unique for it to be enjoyed. You could read a book exactly the same as the Hunger Games and enjoy it if the characters are likeable and it has been written in a way that grabs you. This book really just…doesn’t. But hey, this book got a lot of great recommendations on GoodReads so you may read it and absolutely love it. Give it a go and let me know what you think.

The Jewel – Amy Ewing

The Jewel.jpg

The cover was a bit meh, too much writing on it which was a bit weird – but that’s not why I didn’t like it. For me, the issue was the character development. The love story was a bit out of the blue…for someone to get overly jealous and have heart palpations after meeting someone once without magic being involved, it was just a bit silly really. 3/4 of the way through I gave up because I just realised that I really didn’t care about the characters enough to want to see what happened to them. It sounds harsh, but for me it is the simple truth.

The Beating of His Wings (#3 Left Hand of God series) – Paul Hoffman

left hand of god.jpg

I read book 1 and thought, yeah I can do this. It was a bit all over the place but I found the narration quite entertaining to read so I kept with it. Book 2 became a bit more difficult, a lot of battles and the main character became less likeable…but I was determined to see it through. When I got to the 3rd book I was like “What in the name of…??“. I don’t know what happened, but I think Mr Hoffman kind of gave up on the story. Parts of the book are some sort of script from an interview with the main character and I pretty much gave up after the first few chapters. It’s a shame because even though the whole story was a bit odd, I really wanted to know what was going to happen but the change in narration completely lost me.

The Lord of the Rings series – J.R.R. Tolkien

lotr111

Guys, this series is my Everest. No joke, I have tried reading this book a thousand times since I was 12. I just can’t do it, and it makes me so sad cuz I LOVE the movies! Tolkien’s writing is hard for me to follow and I don’t know if that means something is wrong with me but whatever. I’m going to keep trying this book for the rest of my life, I’m not going down without a fight!

Fifty Shades Freed (#3 Fifty Shades of Grey series) – E L James

fifty.jpg

I honestly don’t know how I made it this far in the series to be honest. The writing was absolutely terrible, the characters completely unlikeable and the plot just plain silly. I got to the point where if I read “Oh my” again, I was going to rip the book apart and burn it. And yes, that is a very violent reaction to a book, but this book was the absolute worst and it deserves nothing less. For some reason there are people who like this book, so I’m sorry if this has offended. But you are better off reading the Anita Blake series because at least it is better written and there are vampires in it.

Anita Blake Vampire Hunter – Laurell K. Hamilton

anita blake.jpg

I actually liked this series to start with. Anita Blake was such a badass and she was witty as well. This is an absolutely MASSIVE series, with 24 books to date. But by the end of the 13th book I was over it. These books ended up being way more erotic than Fifty Shades, they just ended up being one big orgy and it got pretty gross. If you like this sort of stuff then this series is for you, because it is written well and there are some really good likeable characters. In the end, it just wasn’t for me.

Last Breath (#1 Morganville Vampires) – Rachel Caine

morganville-vampires-novels

This series may be really good, I’m not saying it isn’t. But By the time I got to this series I was completely over the vampire and werewolf thing. I had slugged my way to the end of the Sookie Stackhouse series and was completely let down, so I am completely turned off reading about vampires now.

If there be Thorns (#3 Dollanganger series) – Virginia Andrews

Virginaandrews5.jpg

Flowers in the Attic is incredibly sad and depressing. For those of you who aren’t familiar with this story, it is about a Mother who keeps her kids in an attic for a long, long time. Because of this the brother and sister start to develop unnatural feelings for each other which has ramifications pretty much for the rest of their lives. I read the first two books, however I really just couldn’t go on any further because it was just too depressing. The books are quite confronting, sad and anger inducing…not really my type of book.

Charles Manson – Simon Wells

c-manson

I borrowed this book off one of my sisters, because I was quite intrigued on Charles Manson’s story. It was a poorly timed choice, because my husband went away just as I started to read it. I got about half way, and it really freaked me out way too much to continue. The whole story made me feel icky and then I became paranoid and had to have my windows closed…it just wasn’t worth those feelings. So I put the book away and never looked at it again…eeek.

************************************************************************

Did you have trouble reading any of the above books? Are there any books that you consider your Everest? Let me know what you think!

7 comments

  1. D. Wallace Peach · October 25, 2016

    Interesting list. I’m glad I’m not on it! Ha ha. I haven’t read any of these books except Tolkien’s series, which I loved. But I know what you mean about some books just not working for a variety of reasons. There are a couple highly recommended books that I’ve tried to read and just couldn’t get into it. Fortunately, there are thousands of books that I can! 🙂

    Like

    • littlebookynook · October 25, 2016

      Lol well out of a whole life time of reading I could only think of these books, because I generally like every book that I read. Sometimes some books are overhyped and so you have high expectations when you come to reading the book. I’m glad that as a rule, there are more awesome books than not 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. bookfandom1001 · March 23

    I had to listen to my old friend read fsog and I wasn’t a fan it made me feel uncomfortable maybe because I was new to that genre at that time.

    Liked by 1 person

    • littlebookynook · March 24

      They’re just terrible books, and I hate that abusive relationships are glamourised (is that a word? Lol).

      Like

      • bookfandom1001 · March 25

        I think so I know what you mean I don’t see why people love the books he’s very controlling

        Liked by 1 person

  3. brisbooksite · April 23

    I liked that you included the entire series in this post! I’ve never heard of the Charles Manson book, but now I might have to pick it up

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

