Books that will make you ugly cry

Every now and then, you come across a book that makes you so sad or happy that you can’t help but cry. I admit, I hate crying. So I actually try and avoid reading books that will make me teary. Unfortunately there are some books that have either made me teary or ugly cry. If you are a sucker for tears then these books are for you.

FYI – Each heading is also a link to Booktopia 🙂

ugly-crying-face

Jessica – Bryce Courtenay

jessica

This was the first big book I ever read, and my first experience with crying over a fictional character. This book ripped my heart out, not only because it was incredibly sad but also because there was no justice. To this day, I haven’t cried so much over a book as I did in this one. Even though it is sad, I really recommend this book if you want to read a good Australian story by an incredible Australian Author. But beware, YOU WILL cry.

Love You Forever – Robert Munsch

love-you-forever

This is a children’s book, however this book will always have a special place in my heart. It is a beautiful story about a Mother’s love for her little boy, then vice versa. It doesn’t matter how many times over the years I have read this book, it brings a tear to the eye. If you have kiddies and want to get them a lovely little book about love, then this is a good one for them. I guarantee that they will then grow up with a special place in their heart for this book as well 🙂

Jodi Picoult

handle-with-care

What can I say, Jodi Picoult knows how to write a good sad story. I didn’t add any of her specific books because I feel like they would just take up the whole list. But to name a few that made me ugly cry: My Sisters Keeper, Change of Heart and Handle with Care. I think the reason why her books hit home is because her stories can be thought provoking, they make you question things about society, relationships and life. I have had many a moral dilemma whilst reading her books, and went through a massive Jodi Picoult phase where I only read her books. After a while they got too much for me to read so I have taken a break from them.

The Diary of a Young Girl – Anne Frank

the-diary-of-a-young-girl

I don’t think there is any question why this one is a tear jerker. A teenage girl giving an insight into her life hiding in the Secret Annexe during the Second World War, with the constant fear of where the next meal was coming from and whether they were going to be discovered by the Nazis. Throughout the book there is always hope that Anne and her family are going to be alright, that they are going to make it through the war undiscovered. The end comes unexpectedly, leaving you with ALOT of emotions. And because this is real life, it makes is all the more sadder.

Mocking Jay: The Hunger Games Book 3 – Suzanne Collins

mockingjay

When I finished this book I was a bit of a wreck. The ending wasn’t terribly sad like a lot of the other books on here, but I think it was because the impact of war wasn’t candied over. The characters didn’t just merrily go on their way, they were damaged both physically and mentally. Mental health has been taboo for a long time (thankfully society is starting to break out of that mould), and you read a lot of stories where it is like the characters moved on without a thought of the horrors that they had faced. So getting to the end of this book and seeing that the characters aren’t just living happily every after, it definitely hit me in the feels. I cried and contemplated life for a while after finishing this one.

Allegiant: The Divergent Series – Veronica Roth

allegiant-by-veronica-roth

Sometimes I’m not very good at NOT giving away spoilers. So this one will be brief, as I have already “spoiled” the end for a couple people in the past. In my defence, they asked! Look, I did enjoy this series for what it was, however I think there were a lot of things that could have gone ALOT differently which would have made the series better. I bawled at the end of this book. Not as bad as when I read Jessica, but, it was still pretty pitiful.

A Child Called “it” – David Pelzer

a-child-called-it.jpg

If I could describe this book in one word, it would be “horrific”. This is a story of a little boy (the Author) being abused by his Mother. This is a story that stays with you for life, and not one I would ever consider reading again. How any parent can treat a little human in the ways this little boy was treated, I will never understand. This book made me sick and anxious, which then led to tears. There is a sequel to this book however I haven’t read it yet. While this is a good book, it could be quite triggering for some people so please just keep that in mind.

The Time Travellers Wife – Audrey Niffenegger

the-time-traveler-s-wife.jpg

This beautiful love story between Henry and Clare is quite the tear jerker. Henry is a time-traveller and can be in the middle of dinner with Clare when he all of a sudden gets taken back to another place and time. He always manages to come back to Clare though, somewhere along her life-line. If you like love stories mixed with some time travel, then this one is for you.

The Deathly Hallows: Harry Potter Series – J.K.Rowling

harry_potter_and_the_deathly_hallows_us_cover

You travel alongside Harry and his friends for 7 years, 7 amazing books. So of course when you get to the end you are going to cry happy sad tears. The end is bittersweet, because you are happy that you made it to the end of the journey with them but sad that there is no more. You therefore have to go back and start it all over again 🙂

Clockwork Princess: Infernal Devices series – Cassandra Clare

infernal-devices-covers1

This book has probably one of the friendlies love triangles in history. All the characters in these three books are loveable, so saying goodbye to them at the end is always sad. What really gets the tears flowing however is the unconditional love that Will, Tess and Jem have for each other. I cried so much at the end of this book because I LOVE love, and the amount of love these characters had for one another made me so happy. And it doesn’t quite end as you expect it to, there is no Edward and Jacob snarling or fighting. I have read these books so much, that now I finish it before the end because I don’t want cry.

3 comments

  1. Seila · September 29, 2016

    I love this post! Do you have all of these books as I may need to borrow a couple that are on this list I haven’t read. Not that I want to cry, but they actually look like great books!

    Like

    • littlebookynook · September 29, 2016

      Yes I do 🙂 Let me know which ones and when you want them and I’ll bring them in 🙂

      Like

  2. Vicki · September 30, 2016

    Love you Forever is so special.
    Love Jodi Picoult books

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

